I Should Be Sleeping…

It’s not the middle of the night or anything, but I have already attempted to go to sleep once tonight. I was almost successful too. So much so that I kept nodding off while reading and only woke up when my Kindle hit my chest with a thump. Eventually I rolled over and gave that a go and was doing okay until I got the pregnancy twitchy leg. You ladies that have experienced pregnancy will know what I’m talking about. You know, that “restless leg syndrome” thing. Ugh. The crazy thing is when I get it, it only affects one leg. And I just twitch. And then I’m awake, and no amount of lying in bed solves the problem. So then I get up and spend time looking at my computer – at NOTHING – because there is nothing else to do in our house when everyone else is sleeping. And I’m tired, but need the twitchy feeling to go away before I can try to go back to sleep. It’s almost gone, which is great, but still…

I have a confession to make. It may be shocking to some of you. Here goes. I’ve realized I think the internet is kind of boring. I mean, don’t get me wrong, there are lots of fabulous websites out there, I’ve just realized I’m not one of those people that thinks, “Hey, I should Google such and such.” It just doesn’t enter my brain. This is where Chris and I are very different. He always has several tabs open on his browser. One is always on Boing Boing, and the others are any random assortment of things. He’s the one that’s always saying, “Did you know…” because of something he found online. He’s the one that gets an idea in his head and Googles then shares with me what he’s learned. Want to grow Dragon fruit?Google it. Want to know how to raise laying hens? Google it. I don’t know, maybe I’m just weird. I have a few websites that I check out regularly, but really, it’s mostly my feed reader and facebook, then I’m done. I can’t explain it, I just am not that interested in surfing the web constantly. Maybe my brain is already too full of other stuff, or just too tired most days.

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest we can resume our regular program…

I mentioned that we had a couple arriving last week that were going to be doing a research project. Ashley is working towards her doctorate and decided to study the Biosand filters and their effectiveness. That’s really a very paraphrased version. To do some practice she tested the filter we have in our house first, as well as our source water. We were interested in the results of the tests because we really have no idea what is in our source (in our case, our well) water, how contaminated it is etc.

One of the tests that Ashley is doing is for the presence of cholera, and the filters effectiveness at removing it. As it turns out she found cholera present in our well water. Granted, it wasn’t a huge amount, but it is there. This is really valuable info for us aside from the obvious which is that it helps us take precautions in our own home. The biggest reason is that people in the community know that there is a cholera presence in Pierre Payen, but the question of whether it was in water sources, or whether it was because it was introduced from patients being treated at the hospital down the road last fall, is one that hasn’t been answered yet. Our well is a covered, protected source. It has a big metal lid with a lock on it, and it’s in our property so no one can access it. It’s ground water. To find cholera present in it, without direct human contamination, means that cholera is present in the ground water that supplies our well, and it’s there because it was introduced somewhere along the line. Tomorrow we can communicate this information to our staff and encourage them to spread the word in Pierre Payen that our water was tested, that cholera was found, and that people need to be incredibly diligent about prevention as the rainy season gears up. If our protected source is contaminated, the open sources will be too. The good news is the filters take out most of it, and the rest is at a level that our bodies can fight naturally, which is why we haven’t gotten sick.

Today we had a fun day. I didn’t go to church because the bumpy, bumpy ride up there has proven to be too much for my expanding uterus. I said my good-byes to the congregation a couple weeks ago and they all nodded in agreeance when we said it would be my last Sunday because of the drive. I used the time alone this morning to pack as much as I could and am grateful that it’s mostly done, save a few things on the clothes line that will get thrown in tomorrow.

I’ve got mixed feelings about leaving. It’s hard for our family to be separated. We all do better when we’re together. Olivia can do about 10 days without her Daddy, then the constant meltdowns start. I’m not looking forward to that. We’re trying to put plans in place to minimize it, and I’m hoping that the excitement of being in Canada, going back to pre-school and being in swimming lessons over the next couple of weeks will take some of the edge off. Also, being late spring/early summer means there is stuff to do outside which should help.

Getting on the plane means that I am going, and I’m going because we have a baby on the way. In a very short time he’ll be making his appearance. And that seems crazy to me. I mean, yes, he’s been rolling around in my belly for the last 7+ months, but somewhere in my head I still picture him as being under 10 inches and a long way from being fully cooked and ready to ding. When we went to our last Haiti doctors appointment on Wednesday it was exciting to see his face for the first time in months because he had been hiding and the previous appointments. It made it sink in that he is a little person and that he is going to be part of our family. I suspect that having had a miscarriage before also adds to my thought process. When you experience a loss like that I think there is always a tendency to resist throwing yourself in fully because the fear of loss still remains. What if’s are still there, and the fear that it could all be over at any moment, even though we’re so close to the end is still there in my mind. And yet, I know that when I go through the birthing process I’m going to have this little man who is going to be part Chris and part me. He’ll probably have some shade of green eyes because they run on both sides of the family. He’ll probably have brown hair at some point for the same reason. I wonder if he’ll have his Dads chin dimple? Maybe my cheek dimples? In about 7 weeks we should know.

And between now and the going I have stuff to do and take care of. Lists to write, helpful tips for people that don’t know what we know, even telling people where to find the towels and the cheese grader in our house while we’re away. Lots to think about, and at some point I know I need to just let it be, but I’m trying and doing an okay job I think.

I know that once I get in the airport we can only go forward and then we’ll just see where we end up. You can pray for our family though, we would appreciate that.

  • Pray for good travels for Olivia and I. She does pretty well on the plane, but we have 5 flights in two days and that can be a lot for a 3 year old.
  • Pray I can juggle everything while we travel. You know, the check in bag (we have only one, thank goodness), the carry on, the diaper bag and the backpack. I’m mostly stressed about getting into the Port au Prince airport because the line can be a bit crazy at times, even first thing in the morning, and trying to lug everything could be a challenge.
  • Pray that we’ll be able to throw ourselves in to fun when we get to our home and native land and that Olivia will do okay away from Daddy, if anything just so Mommy can keep her sanity.
  • Pray for Chris as he stays behind a bit longer and gets everything ready for his departure. Lots to do and think about, all while he’s missing his family.
  • Pray for Barry and the Fox family as they get ready to watch over things for us for the time we’re away.
  • Pray that Junior doesn’t make his appearance before Daddy gets to Canada!
Hope you have a good week! We’ll see you on the other side.
~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “I Should Be Sleeping…

  1. Praying for a wonderful transition time for little Miss O – I can’t wait for baby to get here!! I have had issues with the whole restless leg thing and found that it is worse when I don’t get enough water every day – just a thought. Much Love!

Leave a Comment

