What We’ve Been Doing

I always have a hard time seeing how quickly the days can float by. This last week was a bit crazy, but in a good way I think.

Olivia has been back to school and she is thrilled. It was so fun to see her giggling with joy when she saw her teacher and friends, and to see her just jump right in. She loves going to Strong Start so much. Chris was the one that took her most of the time because I was just feeling crummy most mornings and he had nothing to do, so it’s fun for me to see her enjoying herself and getting to know some of the other parents.

In the afternoons we’ve had swimming lessons. It all feels a bit crazy. Two and a half weeks ago we were in Haiti where preschool as we know it and swimming lessons aren’t even options, and now we’re full swing into “North America” life and I’m amazed at how well Olivia adjusts. She can just ebb and flow it seems.

The swimming lessons are going well. There are only two kids in her class and her teacher is great. It was overcast and rainy all last week, and it’s an outdoor pool, but the kids have been troopers. I have to be honest, she looks so freakin’ cute in her little bathing suit being her little self. I feel like one of those gushing parents. I guess I am one of those gushing parents.

Saturday I got myself a hair cut. I just had it cut about a month ago, but it was basically taking enough off to get it healthy again and still long enough to put up. Truth is I haven’t had a “style” cut into my hair in about 5 years. It’s always been a case of “give it a good trim and keep it long enough to put up”. Except the time I cut it off myself. Not too bad, but again, it was a wash and wear. It’s fun to have it look like something! And it’s easy to do.

Sunday my brother and sister in law came for supper. Andrea and I are both growing little people with her being about 11 weeks behind me. It’s going to be a big year for my parents. The fun is that the cousins are both boys and will be 11 weeks apart. Should make for some fun holiday visits in the future. It was fun taking pictures of our baby bellies. I know I’m big, but until I see pictures of it I don’t realize how big!

Andrea at almost 25 weeks, and me at almost 36. We greeted each other with a belly bump.

And right now I’m watching Liv run around in her pink fuzzy footie pyjamas with a fairy wand telling the dog to “Sit! Sit!” the two of them drive me a bit crazy. They love each other but have a very unique relationship. George, the dog, likes to “talk” with throaty growls. Often I’ll hear her growling and tell Olivia to stop bugging her only to look over and see that they might be next to each other while Liv is chatting away to her, but that there is no contact between them, and that George is just growling to be part of the conversation. It’s pretty bad when I have to tell the two of them to cut it out.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “What We’ve Been Doing

  1. Lookin’ good Les! I hope your little guy comes sooner than later….the last few weeks can really drag. Peace and strength, my friend!

  2. Leslie, Your hair is adorable! I lovr it. You are such a cute pregnant girl. Of course, Olivia is adorable as well!

Leave a Comment

