Daddy Is In Da House!

Yep, it’s true. Right now as I type a pajama clad wee one is snuggled on her Daddy’s lap enjoying a bedtime story.

We managed to keep Daddy’s arrival date a surprise in an effort to fend off any and all meltdowns. I had visions of crying fits and emotional break downs if we let the cat out of the bag even a couple days before hand. I figured if we just went on with life as normal we would be better off. Glad I did because it worked like a charm.

Today we got up, ate breakfast and went off to school. I did tell her her that after lunch we were going out for a surprise. She didn’t know where we were going or what we were doing. When she asked what the surprise was I told her to guess and her first response was, “A castle?” :) As we left the house she asked where we were going and I told her that we were going to Kelowna, but what we were doing there was the surprised.

We got to the airport, watched the plan land, and she still didn’t know. I just said the surprise was coming. People started coming out of US arrivals and I knew we were close. Then… then she said she needed to pee. I asked if she could hold off and she said yes, but then I tossed things around in my head and realized that the excitement might open the flood gates so I ran us off to the bathroom for the fastest pee break ever. I’m sure it was 4 minutes. We came back and people were still coming out. Then it was a whole group of seniors on a bus tour. And then there were no more people. We waited. And waited. And then the customs agents came out and locked the doors. I started wondering if something had gone terribly wrong because Chris had been chatting with me from the airport. I checked the screens, it was definitely his flight. He wasn’t standing anywhere inside.

I decided to go look outside, still confused. I saw the seniors loading on the bus. When the crowd broke a bit I was able to see down the sidewalk further. Then I saw the head I’ve come to know and love :) We started making our way through the crowd. I saw Chris looking around.

We stopped walking about 10 feet away and I crouched down and said, “Do you see your surprise yet?” Olivia was looking and looking. Chris was looking and looking. Then he looked at us. And she saw him.

And then she ran.

She ran with abandon and jumped into her Daddy’s arms.

It was so sweet it almost made me cry. The tears welled, but didn’t fall.

It was a sweet, sweet moment in the Rolling family.

Thanks for your prayers for our little family over the past few weeks. We weathered the separation well and now we’re all in the same place and are VERY happy about it.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Daddy Is In Da House!

  1. Yay!! I’m so glad that you guys are all back together under one roof! Separations are never fun.. no matter what the reason.

    Now we just await the arrival of little Mister Rolling!!!

    Praying for a safe & healthy delivery for you & Junior!

  2. What a wonderful reunion! You must be so relieved to have him there. Now that baby boy can make his appearance ANY TIME!

Leave a Comment

