Ski hills and birthdays

It’s been so nice being back together as a family! Phew. It was a bit of a long haul, but we made it through and we’re all happy so I guess it wasn’t so bad. Honestly, I was expecting it to be harder with Liv, but really she did great.

Tuesday Chris took her to school and she was soooo excited Daddy was going with her. Wednesday we had a bunch of errands to take care of and a doctors appointment. We love our doctor here. She’s so wonderful. You know how people will tell you about their doctor and say, “They’re so good, but…” and it’s usually a small but and it’s not enough to deter you,  but a but none the less. Well, I’ve never heard anyone utter a but with our doc. It’s always just praise. She’s wonderful. We’re down to the under two week mark and when I asked what protocol was when I went into labour, recognizing that it’s normal for first babies to come late she said, “Not me! I hope your water breaks tomorrow!” :) It hasn’t, by the way.

Yesterday was my birthday. 33 years on this planet. I’m not one of those people that cringes at getting old. When I turned 30 it felt like an important milestone. I think I’m more comfortable in my own skin now than I ever have been and I like where I’m at in life, the things I’ve learned etc.

We started the day off with Birthday Breakfast out. I think this is something our family should just make as a tradition. We love breakfast, especially breakfast out. We don’t do it that often because, well, we live in Haiti. But, there are many weekend mornings where I’ll spend the extra time making a “big breakfast” and it’s what makes Chris get all giddy. Seriously. When I was asked what I wanted to do and suggested breakfast before school it was met with raves. We had fun as a little family and Olivia insisted that she share my birthday :)

After school we had to take Liv up to get her immunizations caught up. She HATES getting a “poke” because the first round that we had to do when back last fall was catch up of about a year and a half, and it involved 6 shots at once. But, she made it through. She cried during, but recovered quickly and was more interested in the toys. In fact, she didn’t want to leave the health unit when it was time to go. :) We assured her it wouldn’t be her getting the shots next time but rather her baby brother. She didn’t seem to care.

After lunch Chris and I packed up and headed out for a few days away on our own. A friend here has given us full use of her condo on the local ski hill for the rest of the summer and since it was my birthday and we had a window before the baby came we decided it was time for us to get a few days away on our own. We had one night in December, after over a year of not having time away, and we know that since I’ll be nursing we won’t be getting away on our own any time soon after the baby comes, so now was it. It’s been nice to kick back, relax, watch movies, rest and most of all – talk to each other without having to contend with a two year old. Seriously, this was one of the biggest struggles I was having before leaving Haiti. Don’t get me wrong, I love my kid, but I couldn’t remember the last time Chris and I were able to have a conversation about anything without having someone deciding she needed the attention right then and constantly talking over us.

It’s been rainy and drippy, but we’ve had patches where we could get out for a walk. They say walking brings on labour so Chris thinks I should be walking all the time :) The nice thing was that we were able to bring up the baby stuff and get all that settled and set up so it’s good to go when we come back from the hospital. We’ve decided to be flexible and will spend days up at the condo and days back at my parents house as we want. The condo is nice because it gives us space as a family, but it’s also up a mountain away from things like parks and playgrounds etc. I’m glad my parents are cool about us going back and forth.

So now we wait for Junior to make his appearance. I will not lie. I am HUGE. My mom keeps looking at me and saying, “I don’t think you can get bigger.” But I do. Chris keeps rubbing my belly. I really am big. Part of me is scared about what’s to come because it doesn’t matter what you read etc, it is what it is and you can only do so much to prepare. On the flip side, I am more than ready to have my body feel more normal again. The hardest thing I’ve been dealing with lately is my joints in my pelvis and area. This morning after sitting at the dinning table for an hour on a hard chair I got up and almost fell over because my joints locked up. It was painful! I was almost in tears. Yeah, I won’t miss that at all.

Well, my battery is going to die so I need to go plug in, and we need to eat something. The longer days are still throwing me off here. In Haiti we sit down to eat dinner and watch it get dark, then put Liv in the bath and do her bed time routine. Here, it gets dark around 9:45pm and the sun starts coming up around 4am. I have no markers and often find I look at the clock in the evening and realize it’s almost an hour after Liv’s regular bedtime. Crazy!

Oh, and just a fun little tid bit… it’s mid-June and there are still patches of snow on the hill. Just thought you might like to know that.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

