That’s My Girl!

Yesterday we were back up at the hospital for a no-stress test. There’s nothing wrong, they just want to watch the baby because he’s so big.

As I was getting all settled Olivia started getting “twitchy”, so I told Chris to go back out the the waiting room with her. I wanted to be relaxed for the test, not frustrated because she was bouncing around the room. They left and I got all hooked up to the machines and we started the test. A few minutes into it two nurses arrived to take a blood sample for a pregnancy induced hypertension test -again just to monitor things. My blood pressure had been a bit high on Saturday, but was great yesterday.

Just as the on nurse was getting ready to stick me an announcement of “Code Red, Code Red, Code Red…” came over the PA. The three nurses in the room seemed calm. I asked what a Code Red was? They told me either fire or ambulance. And then they started making comments like, “They’ve been doing drills all week,” and “It’s probably one of the toasters setting off the alarm again…” They were taking it very lightly. Eventually the maternity nurse said she should probably go check on it, just to be sure it wasn’t anything big while the blood drawing nurses said something along the lines of “Don’t worry, if it was major we wouldn’t just be sticking you with a needle and taking your blood. We would actually be evacuating you.” That’s good to know.

A couple minutes later the maternity nurse came back in giggling. We all looked at her and as we did she said, “Um, I think your daughter pulled the fire alarm.”

That’s my girl!

They all started laughing and the maternity nurse assured me that it happens WAY MORE than people think it does in a hospital – like, all the time. She was having a good laugh about it. The other two nurses left and not long after Chris came in with Olivia and the first thing he said was, “Yeah, guess what our kid did?”

Yeah, that’s my girl!

Olivia was very upset about it, mostly because right after she did it Daddy scooped her up and ran to the nurses station to let them know what had happened, then she got a good talking to. When I asked her what she did it started crying jags. With a lot of remorse. Poor kid. The maternity nurse kept telling her it was okay, lots of other kids did it too, but the tears continued. The nurse left and came back with a teddy bear for her which eased things a bit. Then she went and got a baby diaper and a knitted hat and helped Olivia dress “Pippa” (as his bracelet said his name was) up. They had a grand time together.

In the end we all had a good laugh about it. I think the fact that the maternity nurse just kept saying, “Seriously, you have no idea how often this happens.” She then proceeded to tell us a story about her son who has Downs Syndrome, and how when he was 10 he figured out that when the fire alarm at school went off everyone got to go outside, so when he wanted to go outside he pulled the alarm. Like, 6 times in a school year.  You can’t blame kids for being curious.

So, that was our little adventure. And now it’s on here for posterity so Olivia can read all about it when she gets older. :)

And no, no baby yet.

Tomorrow is my due date, not that that means a lot about anything. I’m just done being pregnant. Done. Done. Done.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “That’s My Girl!

  1. Love that little girl!!
    I remember when I passed the due date for your husband. The next few days just crawled by and I had visions of gradually deflating over the next 9 months as though it was some cruel joke. But then he made his grand appearance — and so will Little Mister, in his own good time. Hang in there!

  2. I asked my mom about the whole fire alarm thing and she said the same thing…”oh, it happens all the time” She had a good laugh when I told her your story! We’re all waiting eagerly for the next member of your family!

Leave a Comment

