The Long Wait

So I’ve decided that due dates are a cruel joke. If you think about it, it’s a day on a calendar, but when you’re pregnant it’s the day you push towards for nine months. And then, if you arrive there and there is no baby yet it feels deflating.

From this you’ve probably figured out that my due date came and went yesterday with no appearance of Little Mister. My mother in law called yesterday morning and sang me the “Happy due date to you!” song. I think it might not be well known, but it was much appreciated. I liked the way she summed things up in a recent comment – you spend 9 months moving towards your due date and then it comes, and passes, and you feel like it’s been a cruel joke and you’re just going to spend the next 9 months deflating again.

Yesterday we had a doctors appointment and she summed it up well too. “It’s like the biggest test of your life and you’ve been working towards it for 9 months, but you don’t know when it’s going to happen or what’s going to be involved because everyones test is different.” Um, yes. Exactly.

I’ll be honest, Tuesday and yesterday I was an emotional bear. No other word for it. I was a mix of feeling weepy, overtired and very cranky. I was ready to get this show on the road and was honestly feeling disappointed that things weren’t moving. I’ve been having contractions on and off for days, but nothing regular or strong enough to warrant things being “it”. Even this morning I woke up around 4 am and was sure things were moving. I walked around the parking lot of the condo we’re staying in just to encourage things along. And then I felt tired and went back to sleep only to wake up a couple hours later to nothing. Nada. Nope.

I think that Junior is a tease. I say this not only because he’s tormenting me with on and off contractions for daaaayyysss, but also because of other things. Last week my doc asked if I had felt him drop because he had moved down a bit, but not engaged fully. I asked what it felt like and when she told me that it would be sudden pressure on my bladder and I’d feel like I had a bowling ball between my legs I told her that a couple days before that very thing had happened in the grocery store. She laughed and said that it sounded like Little Mister was teasing me by moving up and down. Yeah, thanks there buddy. I blame his father. His dad can be a big tease, but does so in a way where I often get annoyed because it takes a minute to figure out he’s joking. I thought one in the family was bad enough…

I’ve had two no stress tests in the last week just because the baby is big. They want to make sure everything is good, that all my blood work is good etc. Turns out he’s quite happy in his incubator. I keep telling him things will be better on the outside but he doesn’t seem to be getting the hint. After yesterday’s test the doctor said she would look at things and we’d make some plans. She’s sending me for another non-stress test on Monday, and then Thursday I’m scheduled for an induction. He’ll be 9 days overdue then. Chris and I have wanted to do this as naturally as possible, so we weren’t even fans of inducing because it can lead to other interventions, but our doctor is great and said that when she induces she does it very slowly and that it can even take up to three days to go from point A to point B. I am already dilating so it would just be nudging things along. I think I’m okay with that.

What would be even better though, would be Little Mister deciding to vacate on his own. Though, not tomorrow because tomorrow is our anniversary (5 years, can you believe it?) and the idea of having to share our anniversary with a kid birthday is kind of lame. We know what would take precedence and it wouldn’t be the anniversary. The other thing is that we’ve decided he needs to wait until Monday or later because our doctor is away for the long weekend. We’re not picky or anything :)

I guess only time will tell. Until then, please be praying for our family. That we’ll have patience and that Junior will come along healthy and happy. Hopefully we’ll have news soon. Well, I guess because it’s a baby we will have news soon. It’s kind of inevitable.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “The Long Wait

  1. Oh goodness, you poor thing! I’ve only been adoption pregnant so I can only imagine, but I imagine every minute seems like a week when you want to get that uncomfortable precious big bundle off your bladder! Hoping he makes an appearance soon but not on your anniversary – and Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Comment

