Canada Day!

Okay, so we dropped the ball a bit in the sense that Olivia’s Canada shirt was in the wash, and we didn’t get any of the billion Canada tattoos that my friend Lindsey provided for us applied, but we did make it down to the park in Armstrong to take in some of the celebration.

It was fun to be in town, to see friends and people from the community and to celebrate Olivia’s very first Canada Day as a Canadian citizen. There was some cake, and the swimming pool had free swim, so we did that for about 45 minutes and watched Olivia make some new friends in the kiddie pool. After that Chris took her on the bouncy toys, which was a hit until they had to go down the slide part – not a big hit.

After all that fun we decided to get in line for face painting. An hour and a half later (no joke) Little Miss O had a beautifully decorated face that she was absolutely thrilled with. At times I tried to persuade her that maybe a tattoo would be more fun, but she wasn’t going for it. Sore back and legs aside, it was a fun experience for her.

We visited with more people. I got lots of “you haven’t had that baby yet!” comments, and then we visited the petting zoo. The picture of Chris with the goat makes me laugh because he’s had similar pictures taken before, but in Haiti where Mama was threatening to head but him.

Last night we left Olivia with my parents so we could go grab dinner in town which was yummy, until it came back up on me later because I apparently have a stomach bug. Yeah, just what every woman wants at 40 1/2 weeks of pregnancy when you’re waiting to pop. Please, please, let me be sick now! This morning Chris realized that we’ve all had it in some shape or form over the last week. Olivia was sick before school one morning but bounced back within minutes. I’ve been feeling “off” for the last week, and have actually been sick, but chalked it up to pre-labour stuff, and he’s been feeling “off” too but just didn’t say anything. I’ve spent the last 24 hours between bed and the couch and just trying to ride it out. Napping has been a priority and hoping that it’s going to pass soon. Hopefully Junior will wait a day or two to make his entrance. Can you even imagine trying to give birth with a stomach flu? Ugh.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

