Baby Shower!

Two weeks ago my friend Lindsey hosted a baby shower for me. She told me way back in April I think, that she wanted to do this and quickly enlisted help from her mom and mine. We set the date for when we knew my mother in law would be in town, and it turned out that one of my sister in laws was also able to visit that weekend.

I should mention that Lindsey was my maid of honor when we got married. We met when I was working at the church the few years before I moved to Haiti. She was initially one of our youth leaders, and then one of our leaders on my first trip to Haiti. We really bonded that trip and then later decided to move in together. If ever there was a match made in roomie heaven, we were it. We both loved hotdogs, chinese food and Gilmore girls. We would have roomie date night where we would get take out chinese from our favorite place in town, and watch Gilmore girls. In our pj’s. We would make a point of spending time together. Haiti eventually came into my picture in a more concrete way, and Jeff came into Lindsey’s. They’re married now, and I’m in Haiti.

Lindsey loves to do the fun stuff of decorating and paying attention to details. My shower was no different. She chose a blue and yellow theme, with rubber ducks. SO cute. I didn’t get many pictures because I was too busy opening all those gifts!

I know there are a lot of ladies that were at the shower reading the blog. Hi! Thanks again to Lindsey and thanks to all of you that came for making me/us feel so special. We truly did get showered with gifts and Junior is not in want. One of the games that Lindsey planned was a “Guess how many bibs” game. The idea was to guess how many bibs I would get. We all soon realized it should have been guess how many Onesies! I never did count, but it was A LOT. And the home made things, like burp cloths and blankets! And then there were those that knew about Chris’ love of tie dye and Volkswagens. My husband would be a hippie if it was still the 70’s. I’m not exaggerating when I say that we got about 20 tie dyed Onsies and multiple items of clothing with Volkswagens on them.

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Baby Shower!

  1. So glad you had a shower – everyone needs a good friend like that and I can so relate to your Gilmore Girls parties! I have very few movies/TV shows on DVD but I have the whole Gilmore Girls series and just recently when I was having a very hard time rewatched all of them over a few weeks – TV comfort food LOL! I love the rubber duckies.

Leave a Comment

