And…

…we arrived. Yes, the Rolling Family Traveling Circus made it to Seattle yesterday in one piece (I guess that’s what you say when everyone gets there). Though, it was questionable as to whether they were going to let us on the plane when we came into the gate and they checked our boarding passes and passports and realized that Chris’ Canadian passport was expired. That’s when we remembered that we were going to take care of that while we were home and doing Alex’s… Oops. Good thing he’s a dual citizen though and had a US passport with him.

We got through Immigration and received a little chat about how we should get US citizenship for the kids and a green card for me ASAP from the Immigration officer. Like, STAT. :) When he asked why we had the baby in Canada all I said was, “It was free!” He laughed and said, “Yeah, mine cost me $10,000.” Enough said about that.

We managed to get our luggage from one place to another, though it was a bit daunting and had me wanting to cry when I think of what we’re going to be going through next week. Ugh. We met Joel, Chris’ best friend, and he drove us out to our other friends house. We enjoyed an evening of visiting and getting a bit settled.

Today we drove down to Vancouver, WA (I have to clarify because we have readers from Canada and the US and I don’t want all of you thinking we flew to Seattle just to drive back UP to Vancouver, BC. That would be crazy.) The crazy thing about our trip is that as we were on the freeway out of Seattle I told Chris that I was really happy because I felt like we were on a holiday. He agreed. I know we’ve been gone from Haiti for a while, but we’ve essentially been living, not holidaying. Today we were driving in the US, with all of our kids. As a family. In the US. For the first time ever. It was a feeling of freedom that we had been pushing towards for almost 4 years. It was amazing. Freeing and amazing. And there was a feeling of lightness in the car that is hard to describe. I think Olivia felt it too because that kid did not stop talking the entire. time. I wish I were exaggerating. Seriously, I know she can talk but this was crazy. Alex slept the whole way. We stopped at a rest stop for the first time, as a family, traveling on the road, in the US. Did I mention Olivia and Alex can travel to the US?? ;)

And now we’re here, at Gramma and Grandads and this afternoon Olivia declared, “I have new books and new toys and this is so much fun!” :)

Yes, it is so much fun, even if it’s for different reasons baby girl :)

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

