I don’t know where I’m going…

We’re back in Seattle after a week down in Vancouver visiting family and meeting with people. It was a good time to reconnect with some people we hadn’t seen in a long time, to be at Columbia Presbyterian for the first time as a complete family (Hi lurkers!) and just have some fun, like our trip to the Portland Zoo.

Yes, Gramma took us to the zoo. I do have pictures, but haven’t downloaded them yet. It was a fun day and I think that out of all who attended, Chris was probably the most excited. It was funny to see Olivia’s reaction. She was overwhelmed, but perked up when we got to the Africa part of the zoo. We realized that it was because she recognized the animals from movies like Madagascar. She didn’t know what bears and things like that were. It’s those moments where we realize that our kids are being raised in a different culture and will need to be taught these things :) We had a lot of fun and came home very tired.

We were able to meet with some people and do some presentations for the mission, which was great. We always like talking about what we do and welcome these times.

Now we’re back here and are gearing up for a big gathering of friends tonight. We’re excited. There’ll be about 20 of us all together. Should be fun.

I spent the morning going through our luggage and adjusting some things and moving stuff around. It was much less daunting than I was anticipating, so that’s a relief. I’d seriously been dreading this all week thinking it was going to mean taking everything out and repacking. So glad it didn’t come to that.

One thing that Chris spent time working on this last week was cleaning out our van that was in storage down in Vancouver. It had been in a barn where there were horses and animals, meaning mice. And it’s not air tight. It’s 40 years old and rusted through in some places, so those lovely little rodents made a home in that van. And it was a MESS. It was so bad I didn’t even want to look because if I did I probably wouldn’t want to sleep in it again. So Chris cleaned and cleaned and cleaned and now it’s useable again. It only took 2 cans of Lysol disinfectant spray, 2 cans of Febreeze and a couple buckets of bleach water…

Our plan was to move the van to Seattle to our friends nice garage so Chris drove it yesterday and now it’s going to make a home here, hopefully mouse free.

We’re praying that hurricane Irene doesn’t cause us any travel problems this week. Looking at it this morning it looks like it’s going to bypass Florida. We fly into Miami early Thursday morning, and then on to Haiti a few hours later. Please pray we don’t have any other problems.

And I just had a good belly laugh at my husbands expense. Our friends husband just called on her iPhone to talk to Chris. When Chris took the phone he tried talking on it when it was upside down. Because he’s never used an iPhone before. Because we live in Haiti. And don’t know about this new fangled technology. ;)

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “I don’t know where I’m going…

  1. Hey Chris, I wonder if it helps that I also don’t know how to talk on those funny phones and I actually now own one! Truly, if it rings, I have no idea how to answer ;-)

    Praying for your travel and re-entry into life in Haiti.

Leave a Comment

