Leaving on a jet plane

I hate the last hours before leaving. Everything is packed except those last few items that can’t get thrown in until the last minute and it’s just a case of waiting. As I’m sitting here 6 of the 7 duffle bags are in or on the car. Yes, I said on. Because if they weren’t strapped to the roof of our friends Highlander, they either wouldn’t be going or would be traveling in another car, neither of which is possible. To give you a status count on things…

  • 7 50lb duffle bags
  • 2 roll on carry ons
  • 2 back packs
  • 1 other bag
  • 1 diaper bag
  • 1 stroller
  • 2 adults
  • 1 toddler
  • 1 7 week old baby
This should be fun.
Not.
Seriously, I just keep reminding myself that after we check in we don’t have to see our  bags for about 16 hours. And then it’s a small window of pain and hassle in the grand scheme of things once we do see them again. People ask why we only want two kids. Can you imagine having to deal with check in luggage for more than 4 people when the wee ones can’t participate in the schlepping of said luggage. Yeah, neither can we. (All joking aside, that’s really only one tiny reason why we only want two kids. There really are more important factors.)
So, now I wait. We’re leaving in less than an hour. One kid is napping. One is watching Mr. Rogers. And here I am blogging. I’m a little edgy. I’m ready to get the show on the road because the sooner we do that, the sooner we get moving, the sooner we will be in motion and in process and on our way home. I’m so very ready to be home. I’m so very ready to be in our own space. To unpack those crazy duffles and find places for things. To wake up in the morning and cook breakfast (remind me I said this later, please) and fall into our daily routine. To see who my little man is away from the craziness of visits and disrupted sleep patterns. To see Olivia as her true self again in her space where we can more easily set and maintain her boundaries.
I’m edgy too because I don’t like the in between. I like to be settled. I’m okay once we get going and we find our rhythm, but it’s the in between that gets me. And what’s with airports and the feeling that you always have to hurry, hurry, hurry?Hurry and unload. Hurry and check in. Hurry and get your stuff through security. Hurry to the gate.
Then wait.
I should go feed my boy one last time before he gets strapped in a car seat.
We’ll see you on the flip side when the waiting is over and the settling is in full swing. Thanks for praying for us!
~Leslie
This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Leaving on a jet plane

  1. I will be praying for you! but memories of my own childhood are flying across my mind. We were 4 Kids and weight limits where not so strict back then, my mom could get 100 pounds into each bag! that was 12 bags, but ask any one of us kids and the airport was the best part of the whole thing. We still get excited to go to the airport, when I left this last time we went in to cars and I was the only one traveling!
    But I will still be praying for you!

Leave a Comment

