Mr. Wiggles and Miss No Shoes

I’m not ready for this! Aren’t babies supposed to be immobile for a few months?

Alex has started wiggling. I’m not talking just limb flailing, I’m talking wiggling that gets him places. I’ve been laying him on the Granny quilt on the floor, which he loves perhaps because of it’s proximity to the ceiling fan, and I often look over to see that he’s not where I left him. He’s figured out how to put his feet under himself and push, which moves him. We have to strap him into his bouncy seat or he ends up hanging precariously over the end of it, which just doesn’t look comfortable.

When I put him down he was in the middle of the play mat, under all the toys… The “spread-eagle” is his favorite sleeping position on the Granny blanket. I’m thinking it allows for the highest percentage of air movement in the baby folds. I tried it out on our bed yesterday afternoon and it does in fact make for some good napping.

Olivia, as I said, has been having a ball with the boys. This morning she came out of her room and said, “Mom, I don’t know what this is,” then handed me a dirt ball that was formed by some sort of bug. These things never made their way into our house before… Watching the boys, who range in age from 10 to 11 months just leaves me thinking, “This is what we have to look forward to.” And then I find myself smiling because those boys are tree climbers, play in the dirters, true boys. The other day I looked at the ginep tree and saw three of them on the ladder and one dangling from the tree, and there was Olivia at the bottom of the ladder. And shoes? Olivia only wears shoes if she remembers to put them on before leaving the house. And last night she was insisting she didn’t need a bath… :)

I’m having a productive week. I feel like I’ve gotten caught up on most things and then gotten some other stuff done. I even reconnected with my treadmill yesterday which was good as far as trying to get the blood circulating. I’m still having problems with humidity and puffy feet and feel pretty done with the whole lot. My feet had finally returned to normal before we left and I enjoyed a few weeks of seeing them, but now they’re puffy. I know this is a settling in thing. Yesterday I’m sure I drank about 4 litres of fluids and it did help.

It’s been threatening to rain for the last two days. We had a bit of a sprinkle two nights ago, but nothing that I would really call rain. It feels soupy today though not as bad as it has been since we got back. I’m just ready for one really big downpour to get everything wet and cooled off for a day or so. That would be nice. I don’t even care if my laundry is on the line when it happens. Just stop teasing me with all that thunder and lightening.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in alex, kids, olivia, uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Mr. Wiggles and Miss No Shoes

  1. I’m one of those longtime lurkers. My youngest crawled at 5 months old. Never, ever expected it. I always thought it was because he was trying to keep up with his 2 and 4 year old siblings. Some kids just get mobile earlier. If there is an average age, someone has to be early and someone late. He will certainly keep you on your toes if he is already wiggling and making progress. Have fun!

Leave a Comment

