One year later…

Written yesterday but thanks to a downpour that led to our internet going down for a few hours I was unable to post.

**************************************

My mind has been hovering over the date off and on all day today. September 14 will always be a special day for this little family. Why, you ask?

One year ago on this date the Rolling family went to the airport together for the first time. One year ago on this date Olivia got her first stamps in her passport. One year ago today we got on a plane, together.  And one year ago our feet stepped onto Canadian soil for the first time as a family of three.

I just spent some time reading back about our trip home. I’m so glad we have this blog because of the bits and pieces of our lives that get recorded here. There’s always so much going on that our brains feel overwhelmed most days. Being able to read back through is so sweet.

I thought it would be fun to share some pictures from a year ago and now…

This picture might seem funny to you, but for me it brings back memories. We were in the home stretch of our adoption and had to go in for some paperwork something or other. We were waiting for a signature on something so we decided to go get lunch and after we ate Olivia spent a lot of time playing with that door. She was so small compared to what she is now. I just remember sitting there for a long time waiting for a phone call to tell us the papers were done, and the whole time she played with that door. The whole. time. I mean, over an hour. And no, that’s not a personal bodyguard :)

On our flight to Montreal.

 

And now with Mommy on the flight to Montreal.

I remember landing in Montreal that night. It was only about 8pm, but it felt like we had been traveling for days. In reality, we had been traveling for years. It was such a journey for us to get to that point that arriving in Canada was almost unbelievable. We were so emotionally exhausted from the journey we had been on that I think the fact that we were in fact out of Haiti, together, didn’t really sink in. We were still focused on moving, on getting to BC, and kept telling ourselves it was just a little further. Only a little more to go. Words we’d said for almost three years.

One year later to the day.

And now here we are. I took the picture of the kids yesterday because it shows so many things. Olivia is so much bigger. So much more mature looking. She’s lost that baby face. Well, everything babyish, really. And last year we were a family of three. Chris and I had decided long before that when Olivia’s adoption was done we would try for another baby. About 6 weeks after we got to Canada I found out I was pregnant. To me that just speaks so clearly about God’s perfect timing for our family. He allowed us to move through the last hard months and focus on Olivia and getting the adoption done, and when we could rest and rejoice in that he blessed us with another new little life.

I feel blessed.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “One year later…

  1. Thank you for sharing your wondrous journey with us. Memories…

    Those two children are gorgeous and the latest picture is something we will all be looking back to as your very tall boy will, no doubt, before long surpass his big sister :)

    • It’s funny that you mentioned how tall Alex is. When Chris and I were looking at the picture last night I pointed out the fact that our 10 week old was already half the height of his 3 1/2 year old sister… :)

Leave a Comment

