The Stories They Could Tell

Our friend Lori is here with her team doing dental and medical clinic for our staff and their families. I love it when she comes because it gives us a chance to bless our staff, and for us to get to know some of the people in their lives.

This morning Daniel’s daughter came in. She’s 8. I didn’t know he had a daughter. Daniel doesn’t look old enough to have an eight year old, but one thing I’ve learned here is that looks can be deceiving and people are often older than they look. At least the younger generation is. The older generation often look older than they are because they’ve spent many years working in one manner or another.

Anyway, Daniel’s daughter came in to see the nurse, but also said that she had a tooth needing to be pulled. Normally when Lori hears about a tooth needing to be pulled it’s because it has a lot of decay and it involves lots of freezing and pulling and blood. Today’s tooth pull involved one baby tooth dangling to make space for it’s bigger replacement. Lori had it out in a couple of minutes and we were reminded that kids all over the world sometimes just need that bigger person to do the final yank for them.

A bit later Melix brought his grandma over. The last time we did clinic she came in and was the sweetest, spunkiest little old lady I may have ever met. When I saw her today I went out to greet her and she was so excited to know that our baby had arrived. After her consultation I asked if I could get a picture with her and Melix together. It was so sweet to see how proud he was of her.

IMG_7858_thumb[1]

When I say this lady is spry, I really mean it. Aside from my own Granny, I’m pretty sure she might be one of my favorite older women. While she was in her consult another lady with a lot of years under her belt came in and Melix introduced her as “Gran Jimmy” – Jimmy’s grandma.

One thing you need to know about our workers is that they all know each other. Which means their families all know each other. These two ladies were such a hoot. There is no other word for it. When they were both done seeing the nurse I asked if I could take some more pictures, and what I ended up with was some pictures of two sweet, funny, spirited women, and a sore belly from laughing so hard along with them. First off, can you even imagine being about 80 years old and maybe never seeing a picture of yourself, especially not on the back of a digital camera?

IMG_7860_thumb[1]

Can you see the years of wisdom in that face?

I then asked for both ladies to get together and once they did, told them that I didn’t take pictures of people unless they smiled, and Gran Jimmy says, “But I don’t have any teeth!” to which Gran Melix responded with a huge belly laugh, and a little dance.

IMG_7861_thumb[1]

She was SO funny. And she loved that we were getting as much entertainment out of the situation as she was.

I finally got the ladies together…

IMG_7862_thumb[2]

I can’t even imagine the things that those faces have seen in their lifetime. I told them that I hoped when I had as many years as they did that I had as much spirit as they do now.

Don’t you wish you could come hang out with us for a day?

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “The Stories They Could Tell

  1. Leslie I like the new look of your blog. I do not even try to guess ages any more here because as you note it is hard to do. Your post reminds me of a dear old lady we had in the hospital once on LaGonave-over 100 years old and she held court with her family in attendance. I hope when I get old I can be spunky.

Leave a Comment

