Shut up and drink your vegetables

Is pumpkin a vegetable? Or  fruit? I’ve always thought of it as a veg…

And I digress.

So, it’s October, which has us all thinking of fall. Here in Haiti our fall mental “triggers” are that we are sweating a little bit less, and it rains less often. No changing leaves. No nip in the air. No sweaters. I’m so glad we got to do fall last year, it was so fun and fresh and not hot…

At this time of the year our brains start shifting to things like Thanksgiving and harvest and hunkering down a bit. The other day a friend posted a link on facebook for a recipe for Pumpkin Spice Lattes. It got me thinking that maybe we could enjoy a bit of fall here in Haiti, sweat and all.

The recipe called for canned pumpkin puree, which I can’t get here. So, I did what I’ve done in the past and had Yonese get me a pumpkin at the market and then cooked it up, pureed it and put a bunch in the freezer for pie this weekend, and left about 4 cups in the fridge for experimenting. And oh, did I experiment. And oh, am I amazing.

People, this is so good it’s literally distracting.

I wish I was joking, but I’m not. I know I’m not joking because I was drinking this while down in the class this morning and while Chris was teaching he kept asking me questions and I couldn’t answer because every time I took a sip my brain was gone. Gone I tell you!

So, here it is. Probably the best Pumpkin Spice Latte you will ever drink.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

2 litres of milk (your choice of fat content)
1 1/2 – 2 c. pumpkin puree
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground alspice
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 1/2 tsp ginger
4 tsp cinnamon
3/4 c. sugar (or to taste)
2 tsp vanilla (or 1 tsp if using pure vanilla)

1. In a big pot start warming milk. You don’t want it boiling, just warm to the point that you can still stick a finger in it.

2. Add pumpkin puree and mix with a whisk. Remove from heat.

3. Add about two cups of mixture at a time to a blender and blend until smooth. If you add too much the heat will make the blender top blow off, and we don’t want anyone getting burned while trying to make something delicious.

4. Put blended mix in a juice jug for holding until all of the milk and pumpkin mixture has been blended. Return blended mix to pot.

5. Put heat on low. We don’t want scalded milk here people.

6. Add cloves, allspice, nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon. Whisk until all spices are mixed in. Add sugar and vanilla. Adjust to taste.

7. Pour mix back into juice jug for storage. You’ll have just over 2 L of mix. That’s a lot of lattes.

 

To Serve:

Make a pot of strong coffee. We use a french press and it’s perfect. If you have an espresso machine, make the desired number of shots for a coffee.

If you are using the milk mix from the fridge fill a mug halfway and warm in the microwave for about 2 minutes. Add hot coffee to fill mug, give it a quick stir and enjoy! The spices will make it a bit gritty as you get down in the cup, but they also add amazing flavour. And, the longer they sit in the milk, the more intense the taste will get.

I’m not kidding, this is so freakin’ good. I wouldn’t recommend operating any heavy equipment while drinking, or trying to do anything that requires logical thought. It’s that distracting. And the party in your mouth from the spices… yum. And, the best part is that you are actually drinking vegetables. You don’t need to feel guilty because it’s not made from fake pumpkin flavour!

Happy fall!

~Leslie

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Shut up and drink your vegetables

Leave a Comment

