The Weekly Run Down

I decided I should probably post something before heading off to bed so our stalkers don’t start getting restless, even though I’m getting sick. See! That’s how much we love you. Sacrificing my health to feed your addiction.

It’s another week here in sunny Haiti. Skies were slightly overcast today with sunny patches and slight humidity resulting from the nights rain. Oh, wait, this isn’t a weather report?

Sorry.

It is another week here, and frankly I’m all mixed up. Yesterday was a holiday in Haiti – Dessalines Day – memorializing the death of Jean Jaques Dessalines. We always give stat holidays so it was quiet here yesterday. Olivia did have school because Gary and Carolyn forgot about the holiday and therefore planned on having school with no time to change plans. Frankly, it made this mama happy. Why you ask? Because my dear, sweet husband who is the early riser (as in” jump out of bed and be ready to go so much I hate you” kind of early riser) got up, fed Alex and put him back to bed, fed, watered, dressed and transported Olivia – and let me sleep the whole time. It was bliss. And the best part was that it was the first time in I don’t remember how long where there literally was no one working in the work yard. Saturdays, the only sleep in day for us, are usually filled with grinding and welding from the work yard because someone is always in working on molds. Not having Olivia around for the day meant we could move slow and truly relax. It was SO nice.

Backtracking to Friday, we went in to Port as a family, saw a friend, did some errands and then went to a Canadian Embassy function. Chris and I have been asked to serve as wardens for the Embassy in our area and are just waiting for the approval process to be finished. Because of that we were invited to the event. It was fun to see your Canadian tax dollars at work :) We got to meet the Canadian Ambassador to Haiti and a bunch of other interesting people. It made me want to speak French fluently enough that I could move in and out of conversations like most of the people there. I was telling Chris it’s pretty amazing when you watch people from just far enough away to hear what they’re saying, but also see their body language. Many of the government workers here can speak English with no French accent, but then switch into French like they are native speakers with body language and everything. I wish I could do that.

Saturday one of our new friends, Bethany, came to watch the kids for us so Chris and I could have a date night. Don’t remember the last time that happened in Haiti. Let me tell you something. If you want to serve and love a missionary family, offer to babysit their kids, even for a couple of hours. When you live and work in the kind of stuff we do, and on top of it have little people constantly interrupting your conversations and thought processes, it is SO nice to get a couple of hours with the person you love enough to do this crazy life with and be able to actually talk to them. As in, no interruptions. No one needing a cup of water. No one needing to be burped or changed. Just the two of you. What a blessing. Big thanks to Miss Joy, as the kids at school call her (because apparently Bethany is hard to say when your native tongue doesn’t have a “th” sound)! BIG, BIG thanks!

Sunday we had church and our missionary meeting. We really enjoyed the missionary meeting. We always do, but Sunday we had some new faces and a lot of laughter. Everyone just seemed to be in a good place. I told Chris we needed a bigger house because 17 adults and 4 kids don’t fit into our living room/kitchen very well. :)

And now here we are at Tuesday, almost mid-week. We have two delivery days scheduled and I’m starting to get the cold that my daughter brought home last week. Blech. I’ll be taking a dose of Nyquil, thanks to Dr. Lori and Nurse Kate. They take such good care of us, even when they aren’t here.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

