Dear Alex

My sweet little boy… I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while but things have been hectic around here. I’ve spent the last week in front of my computer writing policies. Not so fun.

But, this isn’t about my work, it’s about you little man.

When Daddy and I would talk about having a baby he would keep saying that I needed to make sure it was a girl. Not that I had any control over the matter. He just loved having your sister, and to be honest, was a little bit afraid that a boy would end up being too hard to handle. The day we found out we were having a boy your dad was actually excited. I was relieved. As we got used to the idea I realized that God’s plan for our family was perfect. Your sister loves being the girl in the family. I know she would have been fine with a sister, but now she doesn’t have to share her girly things with anyone, and she can be the center of girly attention.

I didn’t know what to expect having a boy in the family. Now that you’re here I can’t imagine it being any other way.

Alex, in the last three and a half months you’ve wrapped us around your chubby little fingers. Your Daddy and I thought that Olivia was an easy baby, and she definitely was. But, we though that it would be next to impossible for any other baby to be as easy as she was. We were wrong. So far little man you have given us a cake walk. You only fuss when you’re hungry, tired or wet. You are SO happy. When I say happy I mean you wake up in the morning and the first thing we see is your sweet chubby faced smile. You smile at a look from us, and your smiles are oozing with love. You wiggle and kick happily when we change you. Sometimes you’ll stop eating and just crack a big grin. And sometimes you just start giggling, which gets us laughing, which makes you laugh more and then we all have tummy aches from laughing.

You and your chunk muffin self in your super cute monster towel.

I won’t lie, I love that you sleep through the night. We can put you to bed before 7pm and not hear a peep from you until somewhere between 5 and 6 am, around the same time we’re up and getting the work day started. I was so dreading having to wake up multiple times a night, so thank you for being such a good sleeper. And, to top it off you have to be one of the easiest babies to put to bed. Bath, jammies, milk and you’re ready. If we get distracted with something else you let us know that it’s time by complaining, and you aren’t happy until you’re in your bed. You’re so good at soothing yourself to sleep. You need zero help from us, and again, I’m thankful.

Having a little snooze.

I love to look into your sweet little eyes. Daddy keeps joking that they’re the wrong color because you come from a family of green eyed people. But, you got blue eyes, at least so far. When I look into them they remind me of a storm moving in. The combination of deep blues and greys of storm clouds. From the side they are light. Beautiful and unique.

You’ve started to do some fun things. You’re working on sitting and aren’t content to be horizontal for long periods of time any more. You’ve always been nosy, right from day one. Always wanting to know what’s going on around you to the point where I sometimes have to go off somewhere to feed you just so you’ll eat and not get distracted. You can roll now, though you get a bit upset when you pin your arm under yourself and can’t figure out how to get back onto your back. You love to suck your thumb when you want to go to sleep, and have started pairing this with sleeping on your side or your tummy. You look so cute all curled up. Cute and content and peaceful. You’ve started playing with things too, like the dangling toys on your floor mat, and your taggie blanket. You like talking to the animals on your mobile, and to the bugs that hang on the side of your crib.

Sometimes you get a little carried away with the kicking and it results in minor play mat mishaps.

I want you to know how loved you are. Your sister adores you to the point where we have to remind her not to maul you with kisses. And you love her. It’s so evident in the way your face lights up when you see her, and the way you always want to see what she’s doing. I know you’re just itching to be able to move around and play with her. One day little boy, one day. Daddy and I love you so much too. You are that piece of our family puzzle that we didn’t know we needed.

We are so blessed by the kids that God has entrusted to us. Blessed and grateful.

~Love Mom

This entry was posted in alex, kids by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Dear Alex

  1. What precious momentos are the letters you write to your little ones Leslie. And what great reminders they will be for Mom and Dad because we parents tend to forget some of those little things.

    The Lord bless you all.

Leave a Comment

