The Rest Of the Holidays

I decided that maybe it was better to catch up on blogging rather than hanging out on Pinterest…

I wanted to post more pictures of our time in North America. Sometimes the photo journal thing is an easy way to remember and share what went on. Our last post was Christmas Eve day, so I’ll just pick up from there!

Christmas Eve morning brought us fresh snow, so we bundled up right after breakfast and took the kids for a walk. We knew Olivia would have lots of energy so fresh air would be good for all of us. It was fun to see how much Alex liked it.

We went with my Granny to see Grandad. The picture is of four generations of my family – my grandparents, my parents, Chris and I, and our kids.

The kids in their Christmas outfits. Olivia LOVED her dress. Actually, I believe, to quote her directly, “Isn’t it beautiful, Mom? It’s like a dream!” At that point it took everything in me to not keel over in laughter.

Darren, Andrea and Sulli were with us for Christmas Eve too. It was fun seeing them and getting to snuggle my nephew.

Christmas PJ’s. The posing is something she’s picking up from school. I wish I could do an entire post on Haitians and how they pose for pictures. It’s definitely a cultural thing :) Alex wore his a whole two times before they didn’t fit anymore…

Alex and Sulli were very enthusiastic about hanging out together. Too bad they didn’t know how to make their little bodies work better. They’re only 2 1/2 months apart in age, and both very big boys. It’s going to be fun to see them as they grow up. I can just see it now. Olivia will be the “wrangler” and bossy one, and the boys will get into all sorts of trouble.

We spent New Year’s with friends in Roslyn, WA, where they filmed the series Northern Exposure. Roslyn is a cute, quirky little dot on the map. They’ve left some parts of the set up even after all these years.

The Radio Station. There are other stores around it, but they’ve kept the window front set in place.

Dr. Joel Flechman’s office. Now a gift shop, but you can see his name still painted in the window.

The Brick, where all of the bar scenes were filmed.

We had fun with our friends and are looking forward to seeing them in the summer again. We spent the last couple days in the Seattle area, then flew home to Haiti on the 4/5th.

Since we’ve been back we’ve unpacked, fixed our power, working on fixing water tank issues that have resulted in almost flooding my bathroom, hosted a group of 13 and started a new year of work. And it’s only been a week and a half!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “The Rest Of the Holidays

Leave a Comment

