Conversations With Olivia

Tonight, as I’m sitting on the bed and she’s getting her pyjamas on and Alex is sitting on the floor waiting for story time (because putting him to bed before story time only results in him screeching like a velociraptor, which we like to call *talking*)…

O: You’re a mommy and I’m a mommy.

M: You’re a mommy? How are you a mommy? Where are your babies?

O: In my stomach.

M: How many babies are you having?

O: Four.

M: Four! That’s a lot of babies. You don’t have a very big belly if you’re having all those babies. When are your babies coming (We’ve been having this conversation for about a year now. The last time I asked it was four days)?

O: In June.

M: Oh, I guess then it’s okay that they’re still small. What are you going to name all of your babies? Are you having boys or girls?

O: Alexander Michael. Mike. And Cinderella.

M: So two boys and two girls?

O: Yes.

M: And you’re going to name both of the girls Cinderella?

O: Yes.

M: Won’t it be confusing to have two babies named Cinderella? I mean, how will you tell them apart? And how will you call them. What if you want one Cinderella and the other Cinderella comes because you just said, “Cinderella!”

O: (in a teeny, tiny voice) I’ll say “Cinderella” when I call one of them and (in a much louder, Disney bad step mother type voice) I’ll say “Cinderella!!!” when I want to call the other one.

M: Well, there you go. I guess you’ve put a lot of thought into this.

This entry was posted in kids, olivia, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Conversations With Olivia

  1. Thank you for sharing such precious moments. For those of us whose ‘little ones’ have far outgrown such wise murmurings, it is refreshing and oh, so special to be given this honor.

    Love you all!

Leave a Comment

