More Conversations With Olivia

“Mom, you’re a good Band-aider!” (after I apparently did awesome Band-aid applications on ankle blisters, that I will just take this moment to say were the result of *someone* not listening to her mother about the fact that the boots she wanted to wear on a walk being too small…)

********************

The other day I was lying on the bed snuggling Olivia. We were talking about me being proud of her for earning stickers for keeping her pull up on at night, rather than stripping down and, well, you know. That and the fact that we’re talking about moving towards going pee at night on the potty…

O: Mom, are you proud of me for keeping my pull up on?

M: Yes, I’m SO proud of you! And you know what, soon you’ll start going pee on the potty at night and you won’t need pull ups and you can just sleep in your pj’s and underwear.

O: I don’t want to sleep in anything.

M: Well, as long you live with Mommy and Daddy you’ll be sleeping in pj’s.

O: Mom, when I get married we’re going to live with you and Daddy.

M: You won’t want to live in your own house when you get married?

O: No! I would just miss you so much! Me and my husband will live with you because I just want to live with you forever!

M: Awww, that’s nice. Are you sure you won’t want to live in your own house?

O: Nope!

M: Hmmm, maybe we need to have this conversation again in a few years.

***********************

Let me set the stage for you by prefacing this with a little mention that Olivia had heard us talking about an adoption blog post that I had read earlier. We talk about adoption quite frequently in our house, so this wasn’t anything abnormal. Apparently Olivia was thinking about it…

That night while the kids were in the tub, she was goofing around with Alex. She likes to hug him and rub his head and he just looks at her adoringly and giggles. At one point she leaned over and smooshed his cheeks in her hands, and got nose to nose with him, then said…

“It’s okay! You’re adopted too!!”

Um.

Apparently we need to talk about adoption more in our house…

**************************

The other day Olivia was down visiting with Sheena. At one point she pinched her own cheeks and said, “It’s okay when people do this. It means they think you’re cute.”

Apparently our 4 year old has figured out some valuable life lessons.

This entry was posted in kids, olivia, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “More Conversations With Olivia

Leave a Comment

