Check THAT off my list

I had all these great plans about blogging post trip, but alas it has not come to pass.

While I was away Chris was sick and he thought it was just bowel issues so handled it accordingly, but all his energy was sapped right out of him. Then his symptoms started to come back. After some checking we realized he had typhoid and that the treatment for his bowel issues and typhoid were the same, just longer and because he’d only thought he had bowel issues he’d only taken half the course of needed meds. Thankfully Dr. Lori left us with ample drugs after her last visit and we had what we needed to treat him. A couple days later I got it. So, here we are with typhoid. The irony is that we knew we needed to get our typhoid vaccinations updated this summer while home in Canada.

So here we are slothing around. It’s kind of crazy because your brain isn’t tired, and you’ll have times where you feel mostly normal. Then you do something like eat and start to feel slightly nauseous and wiped out. When I do lay down to sleep it’ll be several hours of sleeping really deeply, then sort of coming to, but not enough to be able to open my eyes, and then into a deep sleep for about 20 minutes and the cycle repeats until my eyes finally do open. And then maybe I just roll over and start all over again. Chris is getting better slowly, but still needs to rest during the day. Right now I”m harnessing the energy I do have to make a casserole so we have so there’s at least some decent food to eat for the kids and us when we do feel hungry. It’s funny to me what I am craving when I am hungry – red meat, salad, protein – all healthy stuff. They say your body knows what it needs, you just need to listen.

I’m doing something that is hard for me in the whole listening to your body department – I’m actually listening and not feeling obligated to get work done or “be the strong one” and pretend that I’m feeling better than I am, all while being completely cranky about the fact that I’m sick and no one is noticing how bad I feel. I’m so thankful for Yonese right now. She’s been in almost every day to help with Alex and has kept the dishes washed and is cleaning the house from top to bottom which is so needed after a training class last week where we were all busy doing other things.

So, the other posts will come in due time. Until then I’m going to sleep :)

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Check THAT off my list

Leave a Comment

