Summer Food Series: Part 4

One thing that I think of when I think summer is coleslaw. Except that I don’t like coleslaw. Seriously. I don’t like coleslaw because it’s usually too vinegary. You know what I mean? So, I didn’t like coleslaw until one summer when I was working at camp and the cook showed me how to make my own coleslaw dressing. I’ve played with it a bit and found my favorite coleslaw. This is the ONLY coleslaw I’ll eat. It’s a combo of sweet, crunchy, and a tiny bit of vinegar bite.

I mentioned that some of the recipes I post this summer will be things that I get rave reviews on. This is one of those recipes. I’m not joking. When I’ve served it to people that like coleslaw they end up taking multiple servings and commenting on it. I have, repeatedly, encountered people much like myself who hate coleslaw as a rule, and yet manage to get them to try it and they have told me over and over, “You don’t understand, I hate coleslaw, but I LOVE this!” :) It’s a crowd pleaser. I recently made a bowl of it for a potluck with our missionary friends, and Chris said, “Why are you making coleslaw, there’s going to be so much food there already!” Yeah. At the end of the day there wasn’t any coleslaw left :)

I’m going to let you in on one of my little food secrets here. Part of the reason I love this served at a BBQ is that I LOVE it on hot dogs, or “slaw dogs” as I call them. I dare you to try it. If you love hot dogs, and you like this, then it’s the perfect food marriage and it might send you into a coma. You’ve been warned.

Leslie’s Coleslaw

Ingredients:

1 small or 1/2 lg cabbage (green or purple, or both!)
2 lg carrots
1 c raisins
1 c mayonnaise
1/3 – 1/2 c vinegar
5-6 heaping Tbsp sugar

Directions:

Cut cabbage in thin strips. I usually half, then quarter the head of cabbage and cut out the core. It’s easier to cut this way too. I usually slice mine about 1/4″ thick. Long pieces get cut too. You want to make sure it’s easy to scoop on a fork. Grate carrots into bowl and add raisins. Mix so everything is evenly distributed.

In a bowl whisk mayonnaise, vinegar and sugar. You want to have enough vinegar that it’s the consistency of pudding before it sets. Adjust sugar to taste. Pour over cabbage mixture and toss to evenly coat cabbage mixture. Refrigerate for a few hours, minimum, before serving. The sugar and vinegar will soften the cabbage and carrots and make the juices run in them so it will end up wetter than when you first put the dressing on. I actually think it’s better the second day, so if you have time, make it a day ahead.

And seriously, put it on a hot dog. Just for me.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Summer Food Series: Part 4

Leave a Comment

