Summer Food Series: Part 5

Sorry about getting behind on the Summer Food Series posts for those of you that are following along. We’ve been traveling and I haven’t had much time to be online.

Our next installment in one that has become a family favorite since I discovered it. Often, our mornings are fuzzy headed and busy because we’re up with the sun and starting our work day before we usually eat breakfast. With Olivia in school now I had to make some breakfast menu changes to something simpler and faster so we could hit the road and arrive at her drop off point by 7 am. Buying cereal can be expensive in Haiti so I wanted to find something that fit the bill and didn’t break the bank. I bought the More With Less cookbook over Christmas and found some great, simple recipes. Granola is now a staple in our home and not only an easy breakfast but also a favorite snack for Olivia. Often she’s snacking from the pan before it’s even cooled.

I’ve played with the recipe a bit and come up with my own and something that works with what we can find in Haiti as far as ingredients go. I love this because you can play with it and change it up to be what your family likes.

One thing that I do use is oat flour – which basically means I’ve taken rolled oats and whipped them in the blender until it makes flour type stuff.

Leslie’s Granola

In a large bowl mix:

2 c oat flour
6 c rolled oats
1 c brown sugar
1 c wheat germ
1/2 c flax seed

In a smaller bowl combine:

1/2 c. water
1 c. oil
1 c. honey
2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp salt

Add liquid ingredients to dry ingredients and pour onto two large greased cookie sheets. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool. Add a couple of cups of raisins or dried cranberries. Crumble and store in an airtight container.

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Summer Food Series: Part 5

  1. I can vouch that this is yummy. I also ate it as it was cooling, snitching some while Leslie’s back was turned. Great snack or cereal, for sure.

Leave a Comment

