Summer Food Series: Part 7

Today’s installment isn’t an original recipe, but something that I found while trying to come up with simple, feed a crowd in a hurry breakfast ideas. We had a group in recently (Hi Lori!!) and there was about 15 of us that needed to do breakfast fast, then clear everything up to start clinics at 7 am. I wanted something I didn’t have to cook, but that was filling and these breakfast cookies hit the spot. I love allrecipes.com and will admit it’s my go-to recipe website. I like that there are lots of comments about modifications that people have made and ratings on each recipe.

Hearty Breakfast Cookies (click to go to recipe)

Some modifications that I made:

  • I used homemade oat flour instead of whole wheat because that’s what I had, and it’s less “flour” and more oats all around.
  • I added about 1/2 c. of flax seed.
  • I also added dried cranberries instead of raisins.
Before I made these for the group I made a test batch for the family, and they got gobbled up. Olivia loved them and they proved to be a hearty snack. The group loved them too. They make a LARGE cookie that really is a meal in itself. I was doubtful, but they’re really filling. Not low-cal, but filling and a great snack or breakfast on the go. If you have small kids I would recommend making smaller cookies because they won’t be able to eat a whole one. They freeze well too, so you could wrap them individually and freeze them for school or work snacks and just take them out in the morning that throw them in the bag before heading out for the day.
~Leslie
This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

