Summer Food Series: Part 10

I like making muffins when we have groups in for an easy breakfast side along with granola or something like that. I also like to make up a batch and freeze them for Olivia’s school snacks. All I have to do in the morning is pull one or two out and put them in her bag. By the time snack time rolls around they’re defrosted and ready to eat.

I wanted to find a good basic muffin recipe that I could play around with depending on what ingredients I had available. Again, thanks to allrecipes.com, I was able to find a good recipe that allowed flexibility the way I wanted.

Breakfast Muffins  is the recipe I found. I did make some modifications, so this is my version:

3 1/2 c. flour
1 c sugar
1 tbsp + 2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 c milk
2 eggs
2/3 c butter, melted (or oil)
2 c. fresh fruit, chopped up
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

In a large bowl whisk together dry ingredients. Add milk, eggs, butter (or oil) and mix until moistened. Do not over beat. Stir in fresh fruit. Spoon batter into  greased muffin tins. Bake at 400F for about 20-25 minutes, or until tops spring back when lightly touched. Serve warm.

One of my favorite combos with this is mango cranberry. I use 2 c. of fresh mangoes chopped, and about 1 c. of dried cranberries. You can also sprinkle the tops with sugar.

I came up with a savory version too that worked out really well. Make the same basic recipe, but cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup. Also add:

2 tsp herbs de Provence
1 tsp garlic granules
3/4 c. cooked, crumbled bacon
1 small onion, chopped
1 c. grated cheddar (the older, the better the flavor)

Follow the same instructions for baking and serving.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Summer Food Series: Part 10

  1. I have been following your blog and your summer food post. I am very intrigued. WE will be moving to Haiti in a few weeks. So can you get all the ingredients you use in Haiti? Spinach? This is something that will make me very happy we have been to Haiti several times but PaP and short term missions are a lot different even the food. Trying to pack what we need in 4-5 nags for the plane is becoming more difficult everyday. Thank you for the blog and all the work you do. I look forward to pissibly meeting you and your family in Haiti. Patty Alley

Leave a Comment

