Summer Food Series: Part 11

One of our favorite foods is Mac & Cheese. I know I’ve posted different recipes for Mac & Cheese on here before. It’s been an evolving process, but I think we’ve found a version that we all love. Actually, I know we have because the last time I made this Chris looked at me and said, “That was amazing!” He’s the hardest one to please, so I decided that we would stick with what works. Really, it was a combination of various things that we all liked that led to a winner.

This is one of those cook the noodles and add the sauce recipes, so – cook your noodles, and add your sauce! This sauce is enough to make a big pot, or coat a 9×13″ pan of pasta.

Leslie’s Favorite Mac & Cheese

8-10 c cooked pasta
3 tbsp butter
3 tbsp flour
4-5 c milk
1/2 tsp dry mustard powder
3/4 c grated parmesan cheese
2 c grated cheddar cheese
salt & pepper to taste
6-8 strips of bacon, cooked and crumbled
1/2 c bread crumbs

In a large sauce pan melt butter. Add flour and whisk together to make a roux. Add milk a bit at a time whisking out lumps. Simmer until sauce starts to thicken. Add dry mustard, parmesan cheese and slowly add cheddar, allowing each addition to melt. Taste as you go and stop when the sauce is “cheesy” enough for your taste. Add salt and pepper to taste.

When pasta is cooked, drain and add crumbled bacon. Pour sauce over and mix well. Pour mixture into a greased baking dish, either a large casserole or 9×13″ baking pan. Sprinkle bread crumbs over top. Bake at 350F for about 30 minutes. Move to broiler for a few minutes before serving to crisp up bread crumbs. It’ll be HOT, so I always allow about 5 minutes cooling time before serving.

A few things…

  • We love it with the bacon because it adds a nice flavor.
  • We buy sharp/old cheddar because it gives more flavor when cooking. The combination of parmesan and sharp cheddar means you actually need less cheddar, because it’s all about the flavor. This is a little cooking trick I’ve learned :)

My kids will eat multiple helpings of this, and again, it’s a “simple” food that our guests love. Very rarely are there leftovers, and if there are, people are usually calling dibs on them :)

~Leslie

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Summer Food Series: Part 11

Leave a Comment

