Summer Food Series: Part 13

I’m going to give this a post all on it’s own because it’s that good. And, there can be multiple uses for it. You’ll see our favorite way to eat it in the grand finale of our Summer Food Series on Monday. Yeah, I know, it’s torture to have to wait.

I first read about this from another blogger and have played around with it to make it my own, using the ingredients I had access too. The cilantro is the key, and sadly I haven’t been able to get it growing very well at our place, though I have plans to keep trying. Until then I’ll keep using dried cilantro that we or visitors bring in. Everything else I’ve been able to find in Haiti.

Creamy Pepper Dip

1 c sour cream
3/4 c mayo
2 tsp dried parsley
4-5 cloves of garlic, peeled
2 tsp dried dill (haven’t tried fresh)
1/2 small onion
1 tsp pepper
1/3 c milk
1 small scotch bonnet pepper, stem removed*
1 small lime, seeds removed (keep the peel on)
1 c dried cilantro

*This was originally written for jalapeno peppers, but I use scotch bonnet because that’s what we have. I have made it in Canada with jarred jalapenos, and just used about 6-7 slices. You can also adjust this to taste preference and minimize or increase the amount depending on how spicy you like things.

Put everything in a blender and blend until everything is chopped up, pureed and combined. Even that lime! And yes, you absolutely want to leave the skin on because it adds this amazing fresh taste to the dip. Put it in a container and store it in the fridge. It’s really much better the second day and should thicken up by itself. If not, cut back on the milk the next time you make it.

I like this on several things. You can just use it as a different dip with tortilla chips, or go all crazy and put it on breakfast burritos with eggs wrapped in a tortilla. Yeah, you know me, I like to walk on the wild side every once in a while.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in food by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Summer Food Series: Part 13

  1. This sounds super yummy! Have you ever tried to make it with lower fat options like low fat sour cream or yogurt? Thanks so much for your yummy Summer recipes.

    • I haven’t, but that’s mostly because we don’t really have a lot of options in Haiti. IF I can find sour cream, it’s one kind of sour cream and one brand – ONE. If I see yogurt, unless it’s the stuff made in Haiti (which is really runny) it’s atrociously expensive and I can’t justify the cost. I have made it with kefir and it was good, but really not as tasty as when made with sour cream.

Leave a Comment

