Isaac 4: The Aftermath

We took a little break yesterday because after looking online for info there really wasn’t much to report. That’s actually pretty frustrating. We don’t have a radio, which is pretty ridiculous and I think needs to be remedied because I always feel like I have no idea what’s really going on in the country and that I have to rely on outside sources for info. I think part of the frustration yesterday was that there weren’t any pictures, and then I realized that because Isaac hit in the middle of the night there wouldn’t be many pictures.

I just read an article by the Huffington Post that was pretty good. You can read it HERE .

I think everyone is feeling grateful and amazed that things weren’t worse. We were all expecting to get hit much harder and were already going into post disaster mode. I have to give the Haitian government credit too for trying to be proactive. It did make a difference when you consider that the death toll in Haiti was only 7 people. In 2008 with all the flooding from being hit with rain from three consecutive storms Pierre Payen alone saw 9 people die. It feels like a step forward.

There is clean up to do now, but people here are resilient and they’ll move through this as they do with everything else that comes.

Today at the mission we’re all back to work. After talking to friends in the area it seems that we were sort of on the outside edge of the bad wind and that it didn’t affect many more north of us. I suspect because of La Gonave things were a bit more protected. We were happy to find out that all of our staff and their families fared well and no damage to report. Seems to be the general status for our area. Today the guys are cleaning up and fixing the downed wires. We lost an avocado tree in the garden too, that we weren’t aware of right away. It was growing right next to the drainage canals and we’d already had problems with it leaning over because it’s roots weren’t strong enough due to a lot of water availability, so it’s not surprising that it fell over.

So, today Haiti is moving on. The sun is out, things are drying up and it’s a new day.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life and tagged , , , , by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

