Quick Post

It’s Thursday, and that means tomorrow is FRIDAY!!!

So, update from here…

  • Saturday we welcomed Ryan to our staff. Usually when people get out of the airport they act excited to be here. I liked that Ryan was no trying to pretend he wasn’t exhausted after only getting an hour of sleep in the Fort Lauderdale airport. We hoped that Ryan would just sort of blend into our family, and so far so good. I knew he was a keeper when on the first night at dinner he picked up Alex’s twice chewed roast beef, off the floor, with his bare hands, and threw it in the garbage. He puts up with Olivia following him everywhere too, which we should just put on the application as part of the screening process.
  • I finished our new dining table earlier this week and we love it. Will do a whole post about it sometime soon.
  • We did a full delivery day yesterday with a new promoter. It’s a bit of a big deal because we’ve recently been having struggles with either the promoters and them not having a full load sold and telling us they did, or filters that leak once they get installed. It was a great day, and we have another one scheduled for tomorrow. Each delivery day is 34 filters, and we estimate each filter serves 8-10 people per day, so this week alone about 680 people will get clean water because of the work we’re doing. That’s exciting!
  • School starts in a week and a half. I didn’t think I would be this excited about it, but the fact that Olivia has been singing non-stop for about 30 minutes now reminds me that it’s coming. I love that she likes to sing. I don’t love that it means we have to talk over the singing or that our heads often feel like they’re going to explode. Yesterday Ryan watched the kids while we went out for about 45 minutes. It was so quiet in the car we almost didn’t know what to do.
  • Alex has gotten sneaky and silly in his own way. He’s figured out that certain behaviors in moments where he’s about to get into trouble will bring on laughter from the higher ups, and possibly make them forget about the discipline. I’m pretty sure he gets this from his father.

Okay, time to head out. Me and the kids are going to visit a friend that lives at Club Indigo for the afternoon, which means SWIMMING! It’s 85 F and 87% humidity, in case you wanted to feel sorry for us.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in uncategorized by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Quick Post

  1. It’s 85 degrees and you are going swimming. Okay. Oh, you want me to feel sorry for you? Hmm… I think not! The humidity in that pool is going to be way higher than 87%! Just remember, this is your choice ;-) Love you Les and love your blogs.

    • Ha ha! Did you know it’s possible to sweat in water? I didn’t until I moved here. Do you want to feel sorry for me now that it’s 7:30 pm and it’s over 85 F and 86% humidity?

      • What is the temperature of that water if you are sweating in it? Les, I HATE sweating so… my prayer for you is to get a de-humidifier and an air conditioner if those things would improve life for all of you.

        HuGs

      • The water is like being in a bath tub most days. I don’t even bother going in the ocean in the summer because it’s too warm, and pools are generally warm too. Our water for showers and baths sits in big black tanks on our roof so it’s not even cold at night when I shower before bed. If the pump is on we get cool ground water and that’s refreshing. Air conditioning would be lovely, but not possible with our power system, and we do get a decent breeze through the day. De-humidifier – it would probably burn out on the first day of use :)

Leave a Comment

