The Morning Drive

Kids in brand new school uniforms.

Massive blocks of ice letting off steam in the building heat of the morning.

The sun blanketing things in it’s orange yellow beams.

The police watching traffic go by.

Motorcycles that always remind me of flies.

A man with the hood of his jacket tied tightly around his face on the back of a tap tap.

Ladies waiting on the side of the road with their market wares.

Busses lined up waiting for the first customers of the day.

These are some of the things I saw this morning as I drove Olivia to school. I love our morning drive. It’s about 40 minutes at the start of my day where I can plug in my music and just be quiet. Yes, Olivia and I talk as we drive, but it usually revolves around the next song on the iPod, or something that she sees that’s not normal.

Haiti in the morning feels refreshing. There is still dew on the grass that hasn’t been touched by the burning sun. People are starting to wear layers in the morning, or at least pants, as the temperature very slowly starts to cool off a bit. Things are quiet. Not like the roar of busses and trucks and scooters and tap taps and cars that begin in the next hour. People are still facing the day with looks of morning confusion on their faces, like they aren’t quite woken up. When the heat starts to pummel everyone attitudes change accordingly and people tend to be more aggressive, less patient, hot and tired.

I like the morning.

I like that Olivia and I get a bit of time to be quiet together and just chat as we feel led. I like that I get about 20 minutes to myself on the drive home to just let worship music soothe my heart or to be lost in my thoughts. I’m always reminded of a God given ability to multi-task too as I dodge the highway traffic and am always on alert while still being able to feel restful and quiet.

I forgot how much I liked the morning school drive until school started again. It doesn’t feel like a chore to me, but rather a privilege – a time just for me. A time I’ve come to know that I need in the morning before the other demands of the day weigh on me.

I wish I had photos to share. I’ve heard though that taking pictures while driving isn’t often recommended here :)

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life and tagged , by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

