Bye Bye Baby

The blog has been a wee bit quiet due to preparations for this weeks group and, well, laziness. So what has been going on here at Kay Rolling these days?

Well, first of all a few days ago we reached a major milestone in our family. I had all these grand plans for a stand alone blog post and even some pictures, but alas it is not meant to be. What pray tell is it you ask?

We said good-bye to baby bottles and formula.

Alex had been down to just a bed time bottle for over a month and we were just trying to use up our formula. We had decided that the last bottle would in fact be, the last bottle. That moment came a few nights ago. It was not welcomed with open arms by Little Mister, but he’s pretty much adjusted and I figure by the weekend he won’t even remember.

It feels very, very strange, to be completely honest. I remember when we got to this point with Olivia. But, we knew we were going to have another child in some way, shape or form, so it didn’t feel as significant. Alex is the end of this baby train, so there’s some finality to it. We’re done this phase of our lives. My baby is growing up.

We won’t ever get these times back. I think as we got nearer it started to resonate more with me and I started really seeing Alex and what’s going on with him. He really is growing and changing so fast. He can say Mama clear as day and has no problem saying it all day long while he begs for me to pick him up. UP! That’s his other favorite word. It means up. It means down. It means out. It means in. Most of the time though it means up.

And no.

Oh dear.

The other day he headed for the cupboards next to the stove. I watched him open them then said, “Alex no. Close the door.” He knows how to do this. He does it all the time. This time though he stood there, looked at the cupboard, then at me. I repeated that I wanted him to close the door. He stood there looking at me and the wheels were a turnin’. Then, very simply he just said, “No.” And then turned back to the cupboard and started to reach for a container to take out. Um, excuse me? You are 15.5 months old. And you just stood there, looked at me, contemplated and then completely sure of yourself said “no”.

We. are. so. done. for.

I told my mom today that I realize that most parents think, and usually at some time in their parenting lives tell their children than at some point their kids will realize just how smart their parents really are. I don’t think we’ll be those parents. No, I really don’t. I don’t think so because at 4.5 and 15.5 months old I can already see that my kids might actually be smarter than us, and we’re going to spend the rest of our lives just trying to catch up and pretend that we’re one step ahead of them.

One really nice thing right now is that Alex has discovered the great outdoors, and will ask to have shoes put on so he can go outside, sometimes for a couple hours at a time, just to wander around the yard and play with whatever he can find. The yard is completely fenced and the guard is there, so we can let him roam. It’s so great! He goes up and down the stairs with no problem and finds all sorts of things to amuse himself. It gives the guards something to do too. They have one of the hardest jobs just because there isn’t much to do.

We booked our tickets to go home for Christmas this last week. I’m really excited. I’m excited because we saved $600 from the first day I looked, which is almost the price of an entire ticket. Can’t beat that! Great flight times and connections too. In fact, we leave after lunch, and arrive in Seattle before 9 pm. We’ve never arrived that early. They’ve added several direct flights from Miami to Seattle, so we can cut out about 6 hours of traveling with not having a connection in Dallas. Love!

Chris and Ryan are in Port with Lori’s team that arrived Saturday. They’re doing a clinic at our friends house, then they’ll be heading back here tomorrow afternoon for another week. We’ve got several days of clinic here at the mission for our staff and their families, and some other stuff in St. Marc. Most of the team have been here before, so we’re excited to see friends again and to continue building relationships with these people. They’ve been a great support to Clean Water for Haiti and we love that they keep coming back.

Until next time!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Bye Bye Baby

Leave a Comment

