Posting Stateside

I’ve been here in Wisconsin since last Friday night on a fundraising trip for the mission. Let me tell you, this girl has gotten acclimated to Haiti. I love being able to wear jeans and long sleeves and what not, but am not used to the overcast skies and the constant chill in my bones. I’m fully expecting to defrost when I step off the plane in Port au Prince. You might not want to stand too close, there may be a puddle caused by my melting.

So, I’ve never been in Wisconsin before and I’m being fully immersed in all that goes with being in Americas Dairyland.

My very first Wisconsinite experience was helping out at a brat fry. For you Canadians reading this, it’s not a “braat” fry. It’s a “brot” fry. It’s very important that you say it right, or you will be mocked. Chris got to do it last year, so I had some coaching before I got on the plane in an effort to not embarrass myself. It’s also important that you don’t ever refer to it as a bbq. That will also cause mockery. I had to explain to my friends that if they were in Canada and called something a “fry” people would expect a vat of hot oil somewhere. If you want to get a tricky and act like you know what you’re talking about you can casually throw out, “I’m going to a fry with hard rolls” and people will know exactly what you’re talking about. And what you’re talking about is a braat bbq where they put the brats on crusty buns :)

Wisconsin is cheese land, so cheese is done many ways. The other night I got to go to a chain restaurant called Culvers, and instead of fries with my butter burger I got deep fried cheese curds. I know! And what is a butter burger you ask? To be honest, I’m still not sure. I know they put butter on it at some point, but I’m not sure if it’s on the meat as they fry it on the grill, or if it’s just on the bun that gets toasted on the grill before serving. Whatever it is, it was yummy.

I’ve enjoyed meeting a lot of people that have been praying for our family and Clean Water for Haiti and sharing more about what we’re doing. It’s always nice to connect face to face with people on a personal level. I’ve also gotten to see a bunch of past visitors that have come in with our friend Lori. It’s always funny to me to see people outside of Haiti, in their normal lives, wearing warm clothes etc. It’s like I forget that our norm isn’t their norm. Though, they’ve said it’s funny to see me in warm clothes too.

The next week will be more fundraising presentations, and then I’m off to Illinois for a few days to see some dear friends that I met in Haiti. Sometimes God just brings people into our lives that “get” us. I’ve missed them a lot since they moved back to the US and I can’t wait to just spend time together before I fly back to my little family.

For those of you that pray for our family we would really appreciate some prayers while I’m away. This is the longest I’ve been away from either of the kids before and it’s hard on all of us. Olivia is old enough to understand what’s going on and was already asking me why I had to go before I left. She’s been having a really hard time. Alex is very much aware that I’m not there and has been a lot more clingy, which makes things challenging for Chris. I’m constantly amazed at how fantastic my husband is. He’s doing what he can to take things in stride and just choosing to make a huge effort to give both kids what they need right now, even taking Alex to Port for the day rather than leaving him at home just because the little man is having a hard time. I miss all of them like crazy and am counting the days until I get to hug all of them again. I know that Ryan has been a huge help too and am so thankful that he’s there to give Chris a hand with things.

Okay, time to sign off!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Posting Stateside

  1. Understand after spending last weekend also in Wisconsin. Praying that your Stateside visit goes well and that Chris and the children also do well. Praying. I plan to warm up on December first when we return to Haiti. Kris

Leave a Comment

