Better Breakfasts

I think it’s so easy to get stuck in a rut, don’t you think? In our home, for the sake of planning and really, economy, I’ve been meal planning for a couple of years. I usually only do it for supper because mornings are easy and lunch is usually left overs. It works for us, for the most part. I like that it really helps with the shopping. I don’t buy much of what we don’t use, and on the days where I feel like veering off plan I have just enough stuff in the house to be flexible and creative.

Lately though, I’ve been getting bored with breakfast. Our mornings usually run like this:

5:15 am – alarm goes off, Chris gets up and I get a few more minutes in bed, with or without kids.

5:20 ish – Chris is done in the bathroom so I get up and shower while he puts on coffee and gets any follow up or delivery stuff ready for the workers.

5:25 am – some little person bursts in the door telling me they have to pee and then it’s a free for all with Mommy. (And Chris wonders why moments alone, by myself, are so precious)

5:40 am – out of the shower, getting dressed, getting kids dressed, consoling Alex while he cries because he wants something but doesn’t know what, prep my coffee, sit for a few minutes and snuggle, make sure Olivia is getting ready for school…

6:00 am – down in the yard to pray with the workers.

6:10 am – back upstairs to start cooking breakfast.

6:30 am – eat.

6:40 am – out the door to drive Olivia to school.

It’s a bit busy, but it works for us. The time to cook breakfast isn’t a major issue, it’s WHAT I cook. Our fall back is bacon and eggs. And yes, bacon is about $4/pkg. BUT, one package will usually do two breakfasts for us, and we mix it up with other stuff like pancakes and French toast. One of our other favorites is granola, which I make, but I’ve been lazy about that lately.

So, knowing that I needed to add more variety, and less bacon, to our daily routine. I went on Pinterest and got a couple of ideas, but mostly I knew I just needed to plan ahead. Yesterday I made a fresh batch of granola which is fabulous as always. I spent all of today in the kitchen working on some other basics to stock up our fridge and freezer so I have easy go to stuff in the mornings.

First up was a double batch of English muffins. I tried these out a couple weeks ago and they were great. This time though – FAIL. I didn’t put enough yeast in, which is always hard because the flour we get here seems to be so much heavier. Sadly, they didn’t rise well as they cooked. I think we can still use them, they just won’t get cut in half :)

Second up was a HUGE batch of tortillas. I froze 3 dozen of them, all portioned out in ziploc bags so I can take one bag out the night before and we can have breakfast burritos, which we love! I just scramble up some eggs and throw in any combo of things and throw some cheese in there, wrap it up and done! This is always a favorite in our house.

I have yogurt in the fridge to use as a starter to make a bigger batch this evening. Then we can eat it with granola, or fruit, or just as a snack. The key is to save some starter from each batch to make the next one.

I also mixed up a bran muffin mix that can stay in the fridge for up to 4 weeks. In the morning I just need to scoop out as many muffins as a I want to make and bake them at 400 F for 20 minutes. We can have them with yogurt and fruit or scrambled eggs and call it breakfast, and they can cook while I’m doing other things!

My end game plan is to make a list of breakfast ideas and post them on the side of the fridge. Then, the night before I can look at the list and do any prep that I need to, whether it’s pulling a pack of tortillas out of the freezer to thaw, or mixing up the dry ingredients for a batch of pancakes so all I have to do is add the wet stuff in the morning. These are the things that I’ve got on that list so far:

  • Bacon and eggs (because sometimes you need to stick with something that works!)
  • Scrambled eggs and toast with fruit
  • Bran muffins with fruit, yogurt or eggs
  • Poached eggs on toast or English muffins (usually a Friday or weekend breakfast b/c of the time)
  • Breakfast sandwiches on toast or English muffins (scrambled eggs with just cheese, or add bacon or ham or onions or…)
  • French Toast (we get yummy cinnamon bread here that works great for this)
  • Regular Pancakes
  • Pumpkin Pancakes (made these yesterday and they were AMAZING!)
  • Breakfast cups (eggs baked in a muffin tin, either alone, or in a nest of bread with other stuff on top)
  • Granola
  • Oatmeal
  • Omelets (with everything prepped the night before)

I know over time I’ll add more to the list, but it’s a good start. There are other things that I make too when we have groups in that I’d add on here, but for now this is where we’ll start.

I’m excited about being more intentional about breakfast. Now the hard part is choosing what to make next!!!

What breakfast ideas should I add to my list? 

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

16 thoughts on “Better Breakfasts

  1. I use my great grandmothers waffle recipe (no sugar in it) and add a scoop of vanilla protein powder in the mix and make a batch of about 30 or so. Let them cool and stack in ziplocs in freezer. Both my kids can pull them out and put in toaster and then put fruit, eggs, meat or just syrup and they are good to go. My youngest could do her own breakfast at about 5-6 years old and she enjoys helping me make them. If I make a double batch it will last 3 weeks or so. (if you want a copy of the recipe, let me know…basically butter/flour/eggs etc and I’ll email it)

  2. I make yogurt here in the States, but I thought it’d be too hot to make it once we move over there. How do you make yours? I’d love to be able to keep doing that, it’s one of our favorite foods!

    Also, will you share your granola recipe? I’ve been looking for a good one. Thanks!

    • Heat is great for yogurt! I’ve used a variety of recipes and usually end up using something with powdered milk. Yesterday I tried using the fresh milk that we get from the market and pasteurize ourselves. The batch I’m working on was made with about 1 litre of fresh milk, and I threw in two small cans of the unsweetened evaporated milk. I had a bottle of that Yogurt A GoGo that you can find in the stores for a starter. I warmed the milk, took it off the heat, added the yogurt and mixed with a whisk, then poured it into three big jars. Covered them, then set them in a pot of warm water and left them to sit on the stove. Eventually we moved them to sit in the oven to make space and this morning brought them out again. I had to warm the pot a bit just to give it a final warming. It’s thickened, and I think it’s ready to move to the fridge. I have made it by mixing 3 c of warm milk and 3 cups of cool milk, adding the yogurt (usually about 1/4 c) and then sitting it in direct sun in a covered bowl or whatever for most of the day and it worked great.

      Will try to get the granola recipe up in some form soon.

    • The pumpkin pancake recipe was actually an experiment. I just mixed my grandmothers pancake recipe with what I know tastes good with pumpkin and they turned out really well. Definitely something I’ll be making regularly! I’ll try to get a recipe up soon.

  3. Found and printed your granola recipe to try this week. I have enjoyed the no-knead bread as a great toast in the mornings – almost like an English muffin. Have you tried that recipe for pizza crust?

    • Isn’t the no-knead bread fabulous?? I saw on facebook that someone had made a jalapeno & swiss version, which sounds AMAZING. Hmmm, I might have to make some bread today… ;) I haven’t tried the bread recipe for pizza crust, but that’s a good idea!

  4. Left a comment yesterday but it seems lost – Granola was a huge hit!! Made a double batch which was a little risky with a new recipe but it turned out GREAT – maybe a little soft but that could be because there was sooo much of it. You indicated that it was all ingredients that you easily find in Haiti – wheat germ, flax seed??? Thanks again for posting!! Wish I had a recipe to pass on to you.

    • Sorry Sarah! I thought for sure that I had posted it on the blog, but as I looked for it I realized I hadn’t and that I had typed it up and sent it to some past visitors who wanted it :( It’s up there now!

Leave a Comment

