Granola

I want to apologize to all of you! When I wrote my Better Breakfasts post and referred to the granola and was fielding questions about it I seriously thought I had posted the recipe on the blog somewhere a while back, so I was telling you to check it out. And you couldn’t find it. Because if it is there, it’s certainly not showing up. I’m pretty sure it’s not there and that what my mind was telling and what is reality are two very different things.

So, without further ado, this is the granola recipe I use.

**Edited to add: I forgot to put the note in about the oat flour after the recipe. It’s there now.

Granloa

In a large mixing bowl combine:

2 c oat flour*
6 c rolled oats
1 c brown sugar
1 c wheat germ
1/3 c flax seed (if I have it)
1 Tbsp cinnamon

In another bowl mix together:

1/2 c water
1 c oil
1 c honey
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp salt

*To make oat flour I just take a container of oats and run it through my KitchenAid hand blender chopper attachment, which basically functions like a mini food processor. I’ll do a whole container and keep it in my baking cupboard so it’s ready to go. It’s a great add in or substitution in bread or pancakes too!

I whisk my wet ingredients to mix them well. Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix until everything is moistened. Spread evenly onto two cookie sheets. Bake at 350F for about 20-25 minutes. You may want to take out the pan and stir up the granola a bit about 2/3 of the way through the cooking time. You want it to start turning golden brown and not be mushy to the touch. Take it out and let it cool. It will be slightly soft, but hardens up as it cools. Cool completely and transfer to an air tight container.

It’s really easy! I used Henry, my new KitchenAid mixer the last time I made this and it was so simple. Our kids love this not only for breakfast, but also to snack on. I got the original recipe from the More With Less Cookbook that I’ve talked about on here. In there it’s called “Simple Granola” but I have adapted it quite a bit.

Enjoy!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in food, this is life and tagged , , by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

