My Mom Journey: Intro & Blog Planning

Hi Everyone!

So, I’m trying something out, and it’s kind of scary because I’ve realized I actually suck at keeping up on the blog on a regular basis. No, no, I don’t need you to tell me otherwise, I see the reality – and I’m okay with it. I’m just not one of those people that can blog every day. It’s just not realistic at this point, and I just don’t have the time to do it. Nor does it actually enter my mind. I’m not one of those people that thinks, “Hey, I need to blog this!” And then actually does it.

So this new thing for me, is a weekly blog feature. I’m calling it “My Mom Journey”. My goal is to have a new post up every Wednesday specifically for this feature. In these posts I’m going to be talking about general life stuff in relation to my life here. Some of it might be how we keep our family running, organizational stuff, how I shop in a third world country, recipes, etc. Just a window into what’s working and what’s not.

Don’t worry, I’ll still be blogging about other things too, but this is aimed to be a regular feature. I’m going to try it and see how it works!

I want these times to be interactive too, so give me your feedback and questions! Tell me what you’re interested in knowing, too.

As a jump start this week I’m going to share something that I’m trying out to help with this whole thing – a Blog Planner!

My Blog Planning:

Being honest with myself meant realizing that I needed a bit more organization in how I blogged, not only for our family blog, but also the mission blog. Having a couple weeks slide by between posts seemed crazy, but I had no plan and nothing to remind me where I was at with things.

I started looking around on Pinterest for free printables that might help. There were a bunch, but honestly, it was hard to find something that would work for what I knew I needed.

I’m not a full time blogger, or a professional blogger. This isn’t my full time job, and it’s not what I spend all of my time on. I wasn’t going to be needing advertising or sponsorship, so I didn’t need to worry about keeping that stuff organized. I just needed a simple form that I could use to jot down ideas and plan when I would post certain things.

I finally found this template (click on it to go to the site to print your own):

2DYM MOMS BLOG FIRST PAGE 08162012

I decided to print one off for every month, for each blog that I write on. I then assigned each blog it’s own clipboard and finally (after three plus years of living here) decided to bash some holes in the wall to hang them next to my desk.

IMG_0737

Now I can look up, see what I’m supposed to be writing about each week, and go. If I get ideas I just pull the clipboard down, jot my notes in there and hang it back up. Just this morning I was able to update things for April, and now I can see things and think about them throughout the week, then write when I have time.

I’m looking forward to being more organized and consistent in this area, because I really do enjoy writing. And I know you enjoy reading it.

Question: What types of things would you like to know or read about in the My Mom Journey features? Tell me in the comment section!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “My Mom Journey: Intro & Blog Planning

  1. I would love to know more about how your family lives there. I would love to know struggles that you face and joy that you encounter. Well actually I would love to know everything. I just went on my first Missions trip Haiti and we are already planning our next trip to go back next month. There is so much that we have to learn and reading anything about it would be great.

  2. Hey Les!!! Your organization inspires me!!! :) I like hearing about cloth diapering and your ‘learning moments’ as a parent…..I am constantly learning patience and discipline in parenting!!! Thanks friend!!

Leave a Comment

