Representin’

Not sure if you know this about us, but, Chris and I serve as Wardens for the Canadian Embassy. A warden is someone who acts as a liaison between the Embassy and it’s citizens in country. Most often it’s a system in place in case of emergencies, but it can also be useful for passing on information and just having a good tap into the expat community. We love that we can serve our country, Embassy and fellow Canadians in Haiti this way.

Today we spent the morning at a joint warden conference put on between the US and Canadian Embassies. It was hosted at the American Ambassadors home and it was meant to be an opportunity to find ways for our warden systems to work together.

First off, the American Ambassadors home is beautiful. I *may* have taken advantage of the long table cloths and taken my shoes off for most of the meeting so my feet could enjoy the squishy, spongy grass that is so much nicer than ours.

Second, I’m so proud to be a Canadian in this country. Im proud of my country and the reputation that we have abroad. The conference was open to wardens all over the country, and even though it was technically hosted by the US Embassy, us Canadians had a bigger showing. I’m proud of that. Some wardens came down from the north and others from the south western tip of the country to be present.

Thirdly, I’m proud of my Embassy. Because Chris is a dual citizen, we’ve had experiences at both embassies. The Canadian Embassy has always treated us as a valued part of the community here and truly demonstrates that their role in country is to serve their citizens. I could list off countless ways that’s been demonstrated to us over the years, but that would take a lot of time. Their staff in country truly love being in Haiti and often request for extended postings because they enjoy their jobs. Our experience at the US Embassy, sadly, has been not so great. And even sadder is that it seems to be a common theme. I am proud of our Embassy for always demonstrating such a high level of ethic in what they do, even in times of crisis. Post earthquake, after the roof of the embassy caved in, many staff without homes, and working round the clock for days on end, we were still treated SO WELL when we were needing assistance with our adoption.

Often Chris and I just go about our days here and we don’t share the ins and outs because  it’s just our normal here, but sometimes this stuff is pretty cool. I have also come to realize that I need to get some better clothes. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I have clothes… it’s just that bleach stained tank tops and shorts and skirts don’t really hack it for the Amassadors residence…

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

6 thoughts on “Representin’

  1. My husband Chris and I were just talking about the embassy stuff today at a meeting we had with a lawyer discussing our move there and we were wondering about how we figure all the embassy stuff out if we need to at all.

    • I’m SO glad you asked this question!!! There really isn’t much you need to do. In fact, there’s only one thing you need to do – register with the Canadian Embassy. You can do it at this link: http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/registration. When you register it lets the embassy know that you’re here, how many people are with you, where you are etc. so that they can account for all their citizens in the country in the event of an emergency. Once they have all your info (which you can update once you get here and have phone numbers etc) they pass it on to us wardens so we can be in contact with people in our zones to keep them up to date on information coming down from the Embassy. Also, our embassy is getting really good at planning events at the Embassy in PAP and regularly invite citizens to attend.

      • Thank you so much!!! We are feeling pretty blessed with how many people are willing to help us along our journey with getting to Haiti. And I love that we are meeting connections as we trek along. I’m sure you will get a bazillion more questions from me,lol.

  2. I’ll bet that you would have quite comfortable in your attire had you been at the Canadian embassy, eh?

  3. Hi Leslie, so happy to read your post. I am returning to Haiti to work and will be in your part of the country (Deschapelles). I’ve had good experiences at the Canadian Embassy and always felt badly for my American colleagues :)

Leave a Comment

