The Meaning of Life

If you ask Siri “What is the meaning of life, the universe and everything?” she will tell you “Forty-two”. I’m not making this up and I’m not sharing this with you to make fun of Siri – she’s probably a lot smarter than I am. Of course, the answer doesn’t make any sense, but that’s because the question isn’t the right question. So what’s the right question to ask Siri?

I’ll cut to the chase because I think I might know what question we should be asking:

Why were we created? 

We were created to live in relationship with God and with each other. What kind of relationship? Loving relationship. 

I don’t want to get all quotational on you, but here is one of my favorite quotes:

“Love the lord your God with all your heart, soul and mind and love your neighbor as you would love yourself.” -Jesus Christ

I have about a million things I want to say on this subject but I can’t say it all at once so I’ll stop there. As I was pondering this subject today I was thinking about how I think the first time I read through my bible I didn’t really understand the answer to the question of why we were created and what I should do about it. I think I have a better idea now but I still have a lot of learning to do. 

 

One thought on “The Meaning of Life

Leave a Comment

