Weight Watchers Check In: Month 1

It’s been four weeks since I decided to start Weight Watchers. I decided checking in once a month to let you know how my progress is going is a good point to start at. It’s enough time to see how things are going, note any changes, and take some time to see what I’m learning.

My post on Sunday shared a lot of what I’ve been learning over the last few weeks, so this will probably be a bit shorter, but even in the last week I’ve learned more.

First off, I’m feeling much better than I was last week during the class. So much better. I had gained 3 pounds last week just from eating rice or pasta (or both) each day. Even though I was watching quantities and tracking my points, I bloated up. Earlier this week with the switch back to a varied diet, more veggies, fewer carbs and less oil by body let go of the water. I know that when I weigh in on Sunday I’ll be down again, and I’m happy about that.

Second, I’m feeling enthusiastic and encouraged. I haven’t ever felt this way on any diet or health plan. Usually I feel like I’m trudging through and feeling deprived. It feels SO good to be excited about doing this, not just because I know it’s good for me and my family, but because I’m seeing it work already. It’s encouraging to see the results of work paying off right away.

Interesting Things:

  • This week, I’m feeling much better than last, but am still feeling a bit tired and have had some headaches. I felt like this the first week too, so I know it’s my body adjusting and working hard. I’m good with that and am just reminding myself that I’m doing a good job and there will be an adjustment.
  • Chris has indirectly lost a couple pounds in the last month too, just from eating some of the things I make for everyone.
  • I didn’t realize how much oil we were consuming before. We liked to eat things like chicken wings, fried chicken, fried fish etc. I had no idea how much oil I was using until we just stopped. I think I may have pulled the jug of oil out once in the last month, and instead have been relying on my olive oil pump sprayer (to replace buying cooking spray which is hard to find or really expensive here).
  • We haven’t been using as much butter. I love butter and would rather use that than margarine, but just making a small switch in the morning of spraying the pan I cook eggs in with olive oil rather than a small amount of butter has meant we’re eating healthier oils. And, it’s good for our budget here because butter can be expensive. Olive oil is expensive too, but when I spray it on things I use much less, so it lasts us longer. This is not to say that we aren’t using butter, we’re just using less. I still love me some buttered popcorn – I just track how much I’m eating.
  • I love pumpkin! In Haiti our pumpkins are more closely related to an acorn or butternut squash in flavor, than the traditional pumpkin we would get back home. The great thing is that everyone in our family loves pumpkin too, so we’ve discovered. The kids gobble it up, and Chris, who doesn’t like most cooked vegetables, will eat it happily. I’ve been having Yonese get a couple pumpkins every other week, and will typically bake/roast one so I can make puree to put in things (pumpkin butter anyone?) and freeze it in pre-portioned baggies. When I want to use it for a meal I’ll either cut it in half and take the seeds out, then bake it like that with a bit of butter and brown sugar in the hole, or will cut it in chunks and bake it in a dish with a drizzle of honey and some other savory spices (rosemary, cumin, nutmeg – so good!). It’s filling and amazingly delicious, and very few points. I keep thinking of all the things that I can put pumpkin in (chocolate cake in place of oil!) and wonder if I’m going to get sick of it. I really hope not!
  • Breakfast is a big deal for me. And, what I eat for breakfast is a big deal. While some people might be able to eat a small bowl of oatmeal, which is really nutritious, I need to augment that with some sort of protein or I’m ravenous by 9 am (we eat at 6 am or so). Being aware of those things means I can plan accordingly and make sure I have a boiled egg or something like that alongside it.
  • Chris is getting excited about eating better. This makes me so happy because I don’t feel like I’m in this alone. This week he realized he can use the yogurt I’m making in banana shakes instead of evaporated milk. The homemade yogurt is better for us and it’s less expensive since we’re using local milk for the most part. On top of that, we have small moringa trees growing. If you aren’t familiar with moringa, it’s crazy healthy. Anyone in the nutrition world basically calls it a “miracle” food because of how packed with good stuff it is. And it grows like a weed here. We realized that to make our own “green” smoothies, instead of using spinach or something like that which we don’t find easily in our area, we can use moringa and actually get more heath benefits out of it than anything else we might put in. Now we just need to get a better blender… :)

For this next month I’ve set the goal of doing more activity each week. I know that to have a lasting change I’m going to need to take small steps. I feel good about the way I’ve been eating and how I’ve tracked my food every day, now I need to take another healthy step and keep building on that progress.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life and tagged , , , by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Weight Watchers Check In: Month 1

  1. Can you find coconut oil over in Haiti? I use it to fry my eggs every morning. It is a very healthy fat and actually is not stored as fat by the body but rather used as energy and helps burn body fat. I am like you that I need my eggs every morning. Have lost 30lbs in the last 1 1/2 yrs with Beyond Diet. —-Sheri

    P.S. I have been following your blog for a long time. I lived in Haiti 2 years back 20yrs ago and also have an adopted daughter from Haiti that is 6. She is from Mirebalais.

    • I think it’s available at some of the bigger grocery stores in Petion Ville. I have a couple jars that someone brought in for me. I’ve used it in place of regular oil when I make granola and it adds nicely to the flavor. I need to be more adventurous with it :) When we were home this summer I bought one of those pump oil sprayers so I could use it for olive oil. Since I’ve been using that I’ve hardly been using butter or oil for much. I should try to coconut oil with the eggs and see how I like it. I also just realized we could put it in shakes when we’re making them just to get the healthy oil in.

      • I have often put some in my hot tea and drink it too just to get more energy. It is also great for make fried potatoes.
        And by the way, I love the pictures you use on the top of your articles…they are very “Haitian”!

    • Yep! I wrote you back this week, not sure if you got it? Young moringa leaves are tasty. We’ve had them in salad and they’re tasty just boiled for a few minutes in salted water too, then drained and eaten like a side dish.

Leave a Comment

