Recipe: Pumpkin Butter

It’s the last week of September. That seems crazy to me!

If you spend time on Pinterest at all, and like to check out recipes you’ll probably have noticed the explosion of pumpkin recipes on there in the last couple of weeks. I personally am loving it. I’ve recently discovered that I LOVE pumpkin and have been trying to use it as much as possible, especially since it’s a “free” food on Weight Watchers.

Typically I’ll always roast at least one pumpkin and after it cools enough, I’ll puree it, bag it and freeze it so I always have some on hand for whatever might strike my fancy. Our pumpkins in Haiti are actually closely related to acorn or butternut squash, so they’re really versatile. I can use them to make pumpkin pie, or I can cook them like I would squash for dinner. I can make soup. The other day I put some puree in chocolate cupcakes in place of oil, eggs and water and they’re super moist and delicious. Can’t even tell there’s pumpkin in them.

worldcropsorg pumpkin

The West Indian Pumpkin, or calabaza. The outsides really look like a squash and vary from dark green to white, with the shape being round through to cylindrical.

One of the new recipes I’ve tried is Pumpkin Butter. I knew I would love it, but wasn’t sure about the rest of the family. Turns out Chris has been eating it by the spoonful. I mainly wanted something tasty that I could smear on toast instead of sugary jam. The great thing is that you can do so much with it. I’ve put it in yogurt and I’ve mixed it with hot water then added it to coffee to make a latte. All have been delicious.

Pumpkin Butter

Ingredients:

1 (29 oz) can of pumpkin puree, or 3 1/2 c fresh puree
3/4 c water (you can use apple juice too)
1/2-1 tsp ground ginger (I used 1 tsp the first time but will cut back a bit for the next batch)
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/4-1/2 c brown sugar (I used 1/2 c but will be cutting back next time for personal taste)
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp lemon juice

Instructions:

1. In a large pot combine all ingredients.

2. Simmer on medium to low, stirring every few minutes (I actually found myself at the stove for most of the time because it smelled so good and it was soothing to stand there stirring for some reason). The mixture will become lava like and will bubble and spit, so be careful.

3. Cook for about 30 minutes, or until mixture becomes thick. If you stir and lift the spoon out it should thickly coat the back without dripping off easily. You want it about the consistency of thick ketchup.

4. Remove from heat and let stand for about 30 minutes to cool down a bit. After that you can put it into a jar or container and refrigerate. As it gets colder it sets up more and becomes a thicker spread. It should make a large mason jar full.

This really is super yummy and would make a sweet gift for a friend this fall.

Sadly I didn’t get a photo of this little bit of heaven. You’ll just have to take my word for how amazing it is :)

~Leslie

This entry was posted in food, this is life and tagged , , , , , , by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Pumpkin Butter

  1. Made this last night – YUM!! Nothing says it is Fall like pumpkin recipes. It’s funny you said you would use LESS sugar because I feel like I would almost like it a touch sweeter. What about adding some Haitian vanilla???

    • You know what? I realized after I the post went live that I hadn’t actually used the full amount of pumpkin when I made it, so my sugar quantity very well could be off. The recipe that I used as a starting point called for a cup of sugar, which I do think would be too sweet. I also have sensitive taste buds so things taste sweeter, saltier, more bitter etc to me and I cook accordingly. I say adjust to taste!

Leave a Comment

