One Of Those Days

Today has been one of those days of feeling like I’ve accomplished zero things, and that all the things I was trying to do were in fact hating me and trying to push against me and my lovely plans.

The bane of my existence today was the copier/printer. Please know, I LOVE our copier/printer. Until a few years ago we were inkjet people, which was fine for most things, but when it was time to get class materials ready… sigh. My life turned into babysitting the printer for about two weeks straight to make sure there was paper, and ink and that if it ran out halfway through a page I could change it then reset the printer and make sure there was paper and ink and if it ran out halfwaythroughthepageIcouldchangeitandresettheprinter…

Um, you get the idea.

So, we upgraded to color, duplex printing copier/printer. And I love it.

But, it never fails that when I have something I want to look nice, I have problems with toner. Today I decided to tackle a cleaning and deal with the spots I was getting on my pages. I did the work, then the pink toner decided to start puking all over the place, and no matter what I tried it didn’t get better. After cleaning the printer 4 times I gave up and admitted the toner cartridge had won. But, didn’t have another one to replace it because last time I had some brought in whoever filled the order sent me the wrong ones. And, since we were in Haiti and the cartridges had already traveled over the ocean once, returning them wasn’t an option. So, no dice.

I spent another couple hours looking at options for getting a replacement in country, and switching out the printer to the backup inkjet that we have because we need something. In the long run we decided to just order two full sets of ever color and have them sent in with a shipping company. Not the best option, but the most workable one right now. We typically rely on people coming in to bring stuff like this in, but don’t have anyone coming until the end of the year.

So, a whole morning doing what felt like treading water. Nothing got done. At least none of the things that I thought I would get done. The biggest accomplishment I’ve had all day was making some bread (no knead so about 10 minutes of involved work) and a pot of stew for friends that are coming over tonight.

Good thing tomorrow is another day!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “One Of Those Days

Leave a Comment

