Oh, Haiti…

Some days Haiti just throws things at you and you realize you have zero control. And sometimes those moments also leave you with that shiver that runs through your whole body just from thinking about a situation again. Yep, there it goes again…

On Thursday I grabbed my “big” camera (my Canon DSLR) to take some pictures of the kids. The light that comes into our living room in the mid afternoon right now is very cool and I wanted to snap some pictures of them. I hadn’t used the camera in about a month, and it had been hanging on the wall next to my desk where it was handy.

As I went to start taking pictures I noticed ants crawling on it. Not a biggie. Blew them off and noticed more kept coming – from out of the battery door. So I opened it and took out the battery. They started swarming out. Shiver…

We let the camera sit on the counter over night with the door open and would go by, pick it up, tap it and more ants would keep coming out. With eggs. I was cringing because it’s not the first time we’ve had ant nests set up in things here. I was still hoping for the best though.

The next day I checked it again, and the same thing. I finally decided to take the lens off and (shiver again) found a part of the nest, just hanging out inside my camera. Blech… shiver. Took it outside and set it in the sun. Ants don’t like the heat so they vacate. Works on everything from electronics to sugar. After an hour they had mostly cleared out of the that part of the camera, but they started coming out the pop up flash, when I was finally able to get it up. It stuck and I’m thinking it has something to do with the ants. They just kept coming and coming. And coming.

A few hours later after more sun they seemed to have slowed down, but there were some stragglers that had gotten lost – in the LCD screen. Just running around in there like it was an ant farm.

IMG_1618[1]

I put everything back together, crossing my fingers that I could still use the camera, even with the critters in the screen. It powered on just fine, and if I could look past the ant shape in the view finder I could pretend it was okay. Until I saw the pictures. There are spots over most of the frame. I had cleaned inside as much as I could but we figure that they left some sort of body goo all over things. We talked about getting it cleaned, but that would mean waiting until next summer, and because of the ants literally being through the whole thing it would mean the entire camera would need to be taken apart, cleaned, and reassembled, then tested. The cost of that would probably be close to getting a good, used replacement.

And this is where I get to tell you how amazing my husband is. I was trying to be a big girl and just accept that this was a lost cause. I was really doing okay, until he asked me how I was doing. And then I had to admit that I was very, very sad. I honestly think that it might have been easier if I had dropped it or done something stupid, because then I could at least blame myself for a little while. Having zero control over it brings up all sorts of things, like frustrations with living in a place where ANTS CAN INFEST A CAMERA AND DESTROY IT! My husband is amazing for many reasons, but yesterday the shiny spot on his husband badge came from telling me that he knew how important this one thing was to me, and that if I wanted to I could look for a replacement.

After figuring out what I really needed, along with what I would like as a step up from what I had before, I was able to find a great option and am excited to get it in my hands, though I’ll have to be patient :)

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Oh, Haiti…

  1. OK. Note to self watch the cameras. Have had ants try to move into the printer a few times but so far not the camera. Yeah for Chris being supportive. Hope you can get one before the holidays and your family and visitors.

    • I know, right? When we still had a “land line” with Haitel and we had an infestation in the phone itself. In that situation we could spray it with Baygon, but with a camera… I have a point and shoot, as well as my phone camera so I’ll be good for the holidays. It was just so crazy!

Leave a Comment

