Blustery Wednesday

It’s deliciously cool here right now. The thermometer is still reading 83*F, but it’s overcast and breezy and it feels like winter. We’ve noticed that the cooler weather has taken a lot longer to arrive this year. Usually I would have been waking up and needing to wear a long sleeve shirt for the first couple of hours for a few weeks by now, but this morning was the first time. Hmmm. Maybe the polar vortex got things all mixed up?

Chris’ parents are on their way home now after a wonderful 10 day visit. It’s been so great to have both sets of parents here in the last month. The kids are at an age where they “get” it now and to see the difference in those relationships has been so fun. I think Alex, especially, showed the biggest difference. He’s just talking so much more and interacting in such a fun way now, but more than anything he remembers things and can talk about them later. Frequently today he kept asking where Gramma and Grandpa were and I had to explain they went home. We’ve had the same conversation about Nanna and Pappa many times in the last couple of weeks.

Mum and Dad brought in a ton of stuff for us. It was so overwhelming we literally waited until the next day to go open suitcases, and Chris and I had to take turns going through the bags so we could each go over lists and make sure everything was there. It was and we’re still being reminded of everything they brought in.

One of the most exciting items for me was my new camera :) I knew I had gotten a good deal on it on Ebay, but when it arrived I was shocked to see just how good it was. Sometimes those buys can be risky. This one though – complete gem. This thing looks and acts brand new. I showed it to a friend and told her it was bought used and her reaction was, “That is used???” I checked the shutter count (number of times the shutter has opened and closed to take a picture) and it only had about 3500 shots on it – and it’s rated for about 100,000 before it needs to be replaced. It has literally hardly been used. I feel so blessed!

As you might remember, one of my goals for this year is to learn how to actually use the new camera. The 40D is definitely a step up from my old Rebel. I’ve been having fun practicing and trying to learn how to use the manual settings rather than just shooting in “green mode” (which I actually hate because it always wants to pop up the flash). If you have any recommendations for online tutorials or classes, I would love them! You can leave me a comment.

I thought it might be fun to share some of my pictures from the last week. These have had some minor editing, but not a lot, which makes me feel really good. I would love to learn how to use this thing so well that I don’t have to do a lot of editing, but I realize that’s a life long project :) These were all taken with a Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens.

IMG_2578

IMG_2598

IMG_2611

IMG_3044

IMG_3096

IMG_3242

IMG_3279

IMG_3284

IMG_3310

IMG_3326

IMG_3067

IMG_3133

IMG_3140

IMG_3146

IMG_3164

I had some good subjects :)

~Leslie

One thought on “Blustery Wednesday

Leave a Comment

