A Vacation???

I shared a bit ago that this girl is getting out of Dodge shortly. In exactly two days I will be standing in the Port au Prince airport in the line to check in.

And it’s sinking in. I’m starting to get excited.

I know that might sound funny, considering I’m going on a trip to Peru. In South America.

I would normally be getting more and more excited as time goes on, but I think because I wasn’t planning and hoping to take this trip for a long time, and that it came out of nowhere really, my brain hasn’t had time to really wrap around the fact that I’m going on vacation! 

I was literally getting myself put together the other day and saw my suitcases in the room, and I thought, “Wait a second… I’m actually going on vacation.”

The last time I was on what I would call a real vacation, was two years ago when I went to the Dominican Republic with a friend for a few days. Yes, we take time away every summer, but it’s a lot of traveling around, and even when our family gets a bit of time away on our own to go camping, I’m still cooking and cleaning up after people. My kids still wake me up at night and I still feel worn out.

To me, the definition of a holiday is going somewhere where I don’t have to do the regular day to day stuff. Not being the person relied on for food sustenance. Not having to clean up after people. Not having people wake me up at night. Basically, getting away from it all.

And it hit me the other day, that’s exactly what I’m getting. I won’t be the main source of food preparation for everyone for 10 days. I will be able to sleep without anyone else waking me up at night. Maybe I’ll get some rest and feel a bit refreshed. I get to spend time with someone I love and talk and laugh and just have fun. I get to see something new.

I know I’m going to miss my people like crazy, but I also know I need the break right now. I feel worn out and tired. I need to regroup and have some time away so I can be a better mom and wife. And I love that my husband knows this about me and encourages it.

So, here’s to hopping on a plane in two sleeps!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in travels and adventures and tagged , , , by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

