Just Saying Hi!

I’m alive!

The first round of getting two of my wisdom teeth out in my first year of college was a cake walk compared to the past week and a half. Seriously. Giving those bad boys an extra 18 years to hide in and around jaw bones was pa bon.

I was thinking I would be down for a day or two then slowly start getting back into my daily stuff of life here, but no, my body had other plans. Instead, I spent all of last week and the weekend hanging out on our bed hopped up on a nice rotation of Tylenol 3 and super extra strength Ibuprofen. The swelling alone didn’t come down until the weekend. I didn’t get any bruising, which is probably the most surprising thing of all considering how hard they were working on my jaw.

I was determined to get back to work on Monday, and did, but realized on Tuesday after some crying jags that I wasn’t ready to not be taking the drugs. I think I really wanted to be okay and had a hard time accepting that my body just wasn’t there yet. I’m still taking the meds, but the intervals are spreading out, which is a good sign. I’ve come to terms with the fact that I can’t rush something like this because my body just won’t let me. Yesterday was  a much better day that involved well timed doses of medicine and a lot of work being done, followed by me promptly shutting down my computer at the end of the work day and going to take a 2 hours rest/nap. I feel so much better today, so I think we might be adopting that routine for the rest of the week.

My time laying in bed wasn’t wasted though! I’ve mentioned that I’m going to be working at taking over all things website for the mission in the coming months. I’ll be honest, this is like learning Greek for me. I get it, but there’s this whole language and world that is fascinating and yet completely baffling, and I need to dive in or it’ll never work. Over the weekend some things started to really come together mentally for me and I’m excited. Things that didn’t connect before, do now, and it makes sense. I have a lot running through my head because of it, and a lot of stuff to work on.

One project I’m particularly excited about, but don’t want to say anymore about right now. Yes, I just did that. “Hey, I’ve got this amazing thing, but you can’t see it. Na na na na na!” In due time, my friends, in due time. What I will say is that it’s creative and it’s going to satisfy a giant need in me :)

The downside of all this creativity flowing like a rushing river is that it kind of makes me cranky crazy. Yes, you would think that it would cause happiness, but it’s the processing that gets me going a bit nuts. I told Chris yesterday it was like him reasoning through a problem. He very much needs to be in his head, pace, and just work it out until he gets to this place where the pieces start to come together and he just gets it. For me, it’s the same process, but it’s this crazy flood of ideas where one thing leads to another and I have to try and process them all and put them where they need to be, while trying to figure out how to get to the end result. Until I figure it out I can be a bit of a bear. Once I start working out the details and can be hands on that crankiness turns into creativity and I get giddy. Then I realize that I’m the only one that might be excited about the fact that I just figured out how to do something in Photoshop and it’s kind of anti-climactic. It might also involve me whacking Chris from time to time and saying, “You need to be excited about this!” There are certain advantages to only sitting 2.5 feet apart for most of the day…

In family news, one of the most exciting things that’s been going on around here is that Little Mister no longer uses diapers. And there were angels singing! He may have been resisting at first, and not loving the process, but we are there! Do you want to know what’s even better? I apologize if this is over sharing, but as a mother of a boy I was dreading a year of having to help him in the bathroom. I’m so over this stage of kids needing me to help them do basic things. It’s so freeing when your kids start doing things they’ll be doing for the rest of their lives, for themselves. So, I was excited we weren’t in diapers any more, but not excited about the bathroom assists that would be our life. And then the miracle happened – he, in just a matter of 24 hours, learned how to do his business “like Daddy”. Mmm hmm. He may have been a giant of a baby to push out, and be wearing size 5 t-shirts, but that also means he is tall enough to stand up and get the job done. And it’s amazing and he loves being a big boy!

Did I mention that it’s amazing???

Do you know what’s even more amazing?

When you get to this stage and are so happy that life might be actually moving forward and then remember that there is still the dreaded night training – and then they just night train themselves.

Yep, he’s waking up in the night and asking to go the the bathroom. And then going right back to bed.

Have I mentioned that it’s amazing?

I just feel like we’re stepping into this stage of enjoying life with our kids in a new way. A way where they aren’t reliant on us for the basic feed, water and wipe duties, and shifting to rely on us for more emotional support and love and where we can form relationships with them in different ways. Where we can do different things as a family. Where our kids can be more actively involved in different aspects of our life here, rather than us juggling all the balls and watching them occasionally drop on our heads.

Chris and I know that we’re in the prep stages at the mission for a giant leap forward. We’re waiting on a few grant funding opportunities that we’ve just left in God’s hands, but are starting to move again and allow us to ramp up production again after several years of going oh so slow. We’re on the brink of being able to start the most major development project the mission has ever seen – building and moving to our new land. There are things in the works, but nothing concrete yet. Peggy is here and great addition to our team. She’s such a blessing. Our kids getting older means that we can feel less pulled in some ways and more involved in others and they can be involved in new ways. It really is exciting on so many levels.

I would love prayer this week for continued healing, but also because Chris just left this morning for a 12 day trip to the US to spend some quality time with his brother. He hasn’t taken a solo trip for “fun” in years. He was away earlier this year for almost 3 weeks, but it was all work focused. When Ben suggested he buy Chris a ticket to come spend time with him and so they could go on a motorcycle trip together I was all for it. Both of us are just better on so many levels when we get time to regroup. My trip to Peru earlier this year was so good for me. When we’re always around each other, and literally sitting only a few feet apart, it can be hard to appreciate each other, to appreciate our family, and this whole life we have here. Time away lets us rest and come back feeling refreshed and ready to go again. It clears my head and helps me be excited again. Pray that he has a good time away and that things just keep plugging along here.

Well, this lady has some work to do so I’m going to sign off. If you don’t see anything on here for a little while just know that I’m madly working out my creative juices behind the scenes. Or napping.

Have a great finish to the week!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in kids, missionary life, randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

